Skip to content

Dorothy Parker Friday

December 12, 2008

I’m going to implement a new installation to the Reneeborhood. Fridays shall henceforth be Dorothy Parker Fridays. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Ms. Parker, she is a jazz-age writer from New York who championed snark and sass in women’s writing. How could you not love her? I first read Dorothy Parker for a project in the 10th grade and I’ve been a big fan ever since. A lot of her stuff is pretty dry and cynical but then again, so was I in high school. Let me introduce you to one of my favorite poems:

Inventory

Four be the things I am wiser to know:
Idleness, sorrow, a friend, and a foe.

Four be the things I’d been better without:
Love, curiousity, freckles, and doubt.

Three be the things I shall never attain:
Envy, content, and sufficient champagne.

Three be the things I shall have till I die:
Laughter and hope and a sock in the eye.

(Note: I haven’t heard back about my interview yet. I’m expecting a phone call any minute. -and I’m a nervous wreck.- Please consult Twitter this evening for the result.)

UPDATE: Got the job. Kinda jumped the gun at the offer and accepted a low salary without bartering but… rookie mistakes. I GOT THE JOB.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:02 pm

    My gosh, I love that woman. I’m ecxited for more editions of DPF!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:02 pm

    My gosh, I love that woman. I’m ecxited for more editions of DPF!

  3. sarahbelledotcom permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:08 pm

    yesssss. i just googled dorothy parker and am now reading her bio.
    big props to you for letting me know about her. i was in the dark.

    yesssss (again) to more dpf’s.

    🙂

  4. sarahbelledotcom permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:08 pm

    yesssss. i just googled dorothy parker and am now reading her bio.
    big props to you for letting me know about her. i was in the dark.

    yesssss (again) to more dpf’s.

    🙂

  5. Rachel permalink
    December 12, 2008 11:10 pm

    *snaps her fingers while smoking a clove*

  6. Rachel permalink
    December 12, 2008 11:10 pm

    *snaps her fingers while smoking a clove*

  7. *~Dani~* permalink
    December 13, 2008 1:33 am

    Congrats on the job!!

  8. *~Dani~* permalink
    December 13, 2008 1:33 am

    Congrats on the job!!

  9. Amanda permalink
    December 13, 2008 2:09 am

    Congrats! That’s so exciting 🙂

  10. Amanda permalink
    December 13, 2008 2:09 am

    Congrats! That’s so exciting 🙂

  11. Jen permalink
    December 13, 2008 3:23 am

    Congrats on the job! And I LOVE Dorothy Parker!

  12. Jen permalink
    December 13, 2008 3:23 am

    Congrats on the job! And I LOVE Dorothy Parker!

  13. December 13, 2008 5:29 am

    I’m loving this new Friday installation! So fun!

    And the JOB! Yay for you! I hope you’re out celebrating right now. Because you’re awesome.

  14. December 13, 2008 5:29 am

    I’m loving this new Friday installation! So fun!

    And the JOB! Yay for you! I hope you’re out celebrating right now. Because you’re awesome.

  15. Erin permalink
    December 13, 2008 4:37 pm

    I love Dorothy Parker! What a great idea. We should sit around drinking and (fake) smoking!

    Congrats on the new job! 🙂

  16. Erin permalink
    December 13, 2008 4:37 pm

    I love Dorothy Parker! What a great idea. We should sit around drinking and (fake) smoking!

    Congrats on the new job! 🙂

  17. bFlat permalink
    December 14, 2008 12:20 am

    CONGRATS!!! I’m so glad to hear you have a job, now I just need one…

  18. bFlat permalink
    December 14, 2008 12:20 am

    CONGRATS!!! I’m so glad to hear you have a job, now I just need one…

Leave a Reply

