Skip to content

Dorothy Parker Friday

December 19, 2008

Before we get to the poetry, I just want to say thanks to all the great comments and opinions on my Dixie Chicks post! But I really want to reiterate a fact. This country has SUCH a problem pointing out sexism. If you don’t think telling these women to “shut up and sing” and threatening their lives is sexist, you’re continuing to buy into the patriarchal bullshit that surrounds us. Sure, they offended their fans but so do a lot of male artists and I never hear about their death threats.

Okay. Moving on.

This Dorothy Parker piece is called “Frustration” and I find it so painfully ironic that you’ll probably ignore everything I had to say about sexism just to tell me I’m a hypocrite. That’s why it makes me giggle.

If I had a shiny gun,
I could have a world of fun
Speeding bullets through the brains
Of the folk who give me pains;

Or had I some poison gas,
I could make the moments pass
Bumping off a number of
People whom I do not love.

But I have no lethal weapon–
Thus does Fate our pleasure step on!
So they still are quick and well
Who should be, by rights, in hell.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. sarahbelledotcom permalink
    December 19, 2008 10:43 pm

    once again, i’m a big fan. dorothy parker sure was feisty.

  2. sarahbelledotcom permalink
    December 19, 2008 10:43 pm

    once again, i’m a big fan. dorothy parker sure was feisty.

  3. Nate Ring permalink
    December 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    I’m home in the country again! You’ll have to do a guest blog post in spite of me not setting it up before I left.

    I had no idea the dixie chicks were ostracized for being American.

  4. Nate Ring permalink
    December 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    I’m home in the country again! You’ll have to do a guest blog post in spite of me not setting it up before I left.

    I had no idea the dixie chicks were ostracized for being American.

  5. Mary-Laure permalink
    December 23, 2008 7:38 am

    I love Dorothy Parker, such a genius!

  6. Mary-Laure permalink
    December 23, 2008 7:38 am

    I love Dorothy Parker, such a genius!

Leave a Reply

