Skip to content

the one that blindsides you

May 22, 2009

I would describe today as the total opposite of fun. It was challenging – in a very bad way. It was stressful – in the wholly unproductive way. It was overwhelming – in the worst possible way. It was one of those days that made me want to throw it all away and go back to being a barista… preferably in a foreign country. After checking the hours of a few spas and considering blowing a little too much cash on a pedicure and/or massage, I decided to eat my feelings. The problem became — I couldn’t decide what it was I wanted to eat. I wanted booze, that part was clear. But did I want pizza? Chipotle? Fried chicken? Noodles and Co? After much deliberation (I have time for much deliberation on my 45 mile commute), the plan tonight includes BW3’s, buffalo sauce on my shirt (it’s new, so it’s inevitable), at least ONE very large beer, and probably a fudgsicle.

And since we haven’t left yet and I’m hungry, I’m dying to know….
What’s your favorite comfort food?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 1:32 am

    Today was AWFUL. But I’m also trying to get in shape so comfort food was not an option. Instead I went straight for comfort vodka.

    Normally I’d go for Kraft Dinner – ghetto Canadian mac & cheese from a box. Or chips. Or whatever fatty that I can get my hands on without effort.

    Here’s to tomorrow!

  2. May 22, 2009 1:42 am

    Microwave popcorn. I can eat the entire bowl myself. Other comfort foods? A dirty vodka martini. Oh wait that’s not food?

  3. May 22, 2009 2:02 am

    Yeah comfort food definitely got me through winter but now it’s time to shed that coat. I love chili and mac and cheese. Or soup. That’s my work comfort food.

  4. May 22, 2009 1:40 pm

    Entire bags of candy, like starburst jellybeans or reese’s pieces. Once I start eating it, I just can’t stop even when my stomach starts to hurt. Also, as much as I know it’s not real cheese, I like to eat that crap bright yellow nacho cheese on stuff.

  5. May 25, 2009 8:36 pm

    I hope your weekend was better!

    My favorite comfort food is nachos. Or ice cream. Or a cheeseburger. Mm…

  6. May 25, 2009 9:30 pm

    I hope your weekend has been a lot better than the week!

    I’m a mac and cheese girl when it comes to comfort food. Or a good red sauce and spaghetti. Or some kind of sweet…

  7. May 28, 2009 3:09 am

    Popcorn. Or mashed potatoes. Or mashed potatoes then popcorn. Basically, if it’s a carb and it’s not nailed down I’m going to want to eat it. And chase it with a beer. Or three. Or six.

    It’s wrong how much my mouth just watered typing the word ‘beer’.

Leave a Reply

