Skip to content

comin’ down like cats and dogs

June 17, 2009

One week into the job searching process and I’m getting few bites. But just the thought of a new position in a new organization is enough to sustain me for now.

I wish I could go into details regarding a recent situation, but I’ll do my best… After a rough day Monday, I drove into work yesterday, blasting good music, drinking good coffee, soaking in the morning sun and I said to myself: “My soul will not be crushed today.” You see, Monday, I handled a very obnoxious phone call. Actually, I handled a few. But this one really got to me. Luckily, a coworker was in the room to overhear the situation and is willing to stand up for me if need be. However, he complained to my Big Boss about my “behavior.” Oh… you guys… if only I could share the details… I got a talking-to and I told my Littler Boss (who is also looking for a new job) just to fire me if that’s what she needs to do. This caller had no reason to be calling in the first place and even less of a reason to go straight to the top. But I took the blame with grace and maintained my dignity. And yes, my soul is only bruised, not crushed.
I can see the silver lining. I know this isn’t my career, and it’s not the end-all-be-all of my SELF.

But you know how when it rains, it pours? I don’t want to get all Debbie Downer, but daaaamn, it’s pouring here. A college dorm neighbor was in a terrible accident last week, still in the hospital. Joe’s car needs an obscene amount of money thrown into it to repair it. My mentally disabled cousin’s heart valve is either blocked or deteriorating. (That just breaks my heart. She doesn’t know what’s going on. She’s the most pure soul I know and doesn’t deserve a life threatening condition like this. THAT is NOT fair.) And today I had to make a really awkward emergency doctor appointment and the soonest they can get me in is Friday… so yeah.

I’m playing the waiting game… waiting to hear back about the jobs… waiting to hear if my college buddy is okay… waiting to see what Joe decides about his car… waiting to hear if my poor cousin is okay… waiting to see if my health is okay…

You has prayers? I needs them.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 12:23 am

    Oh hun… sending some good vibes your way!!

  2. June 18, 2009 1:17 am

    Oh, that’s terrible. Your positive attitude is pretty awesome. I’m not quite religious, but I’ll keep you in my thoughts and I’d hug you if I could!

  3. ericarias permalink
    June 18, 2009 1:29 am

    Aww–what a crapfest! I’ll definitely keep you in my thoughts!

  4. June 18, 2009 1:30 am

    And by EricArias, I mean Elizabeth Knox. Whoops–I didn’t realize my husband was logged in.

  5. June 18, 2009 1:39 am

    When it rains, it really pours. It’s been a pouring kind of year all around. I’m thinking of you! Call me if you need a drink.

  6. June 18, 2009 2:54 am

    Oh, Renee. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. This WILL get better. It has to. And, if nothing else, I’m here to talk.

  7. June 18, 2009 3:13 am

    Good vibes coming your way. I miss you. Let’s get together soon.

  8. June 18, 2009 3:43 am

    Sending lots of good thoughts your way renee. I hope the week gets better.

  9. June 18, 2009 3:52 pm

    Aw sweetie, I’m so sorry – I’m thinking about you and your family and will be pushing all the good luck, happy vibes & fist shakings (where deserved) south of the border immediately.

  10. June 18, 2009 5:10 pm

    First, I’m sorry about the phone call situation; that’s just terrible and I know how that can go.

    And regarding the health situations and issues? You’ve got all the prayers, good thoughts, hugs and support coming your way.

    If you need anything at all, you’ve got my number and email. Here for you if need be!

    Big, big hugs for everyone you mentioned in this post. Certainly doesn’t fix anything but a tad bit of love never hurt anyone =)

  11. June 19, 2009 2:32 am

    Definitely sending you some prayers missy. I hope the rain stops for you soon 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you again next weekend!

  12. June 19, 2009 6:17 pm

    I’m sending you mass amounts of hugs and good vibes. Things are bound to get better for you love.

  13. sotipp permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:59 am

    “My Soul will not be crushed today” Love that. Totally using that. Feeling your good vibes!

    Thank you for getting me thru my tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

