Skip to content

silver lining!

June 20, 2009

So here it is. Friday night after the Worst Week Ever. And you know what that means?
BEER.

Good news:

  • My mentally disabled cousin with the heart problem is scheduled for a catheterization at the end of July. If she needs an angioplasty, they can do it at the same time. She’ll be under for the whole thing so that’s great news. She won’t miss my wedding (she loves parties) and she won’t miss the Jimmy Buffett concert (she’s been asking about it since February). Her mom (my aunt) told her she’s going to have to stay the night at the hospital and she asked, “But who’s going to take care of the dogs?” The hospital is obviously no big deal. She’s got her priorities straight. πŸ™‚
  • My dad has offered to take Joe’s car around to get a couple more opinions. I have a feeling we won’t pay the $2200 that was quoted by Joe’s mechanic this week. Plus, my stepbrother is a mechanic, so if we can get away with just paying for parts we’ll be a-okay.
  • I saw the doctor today for my awkward appointment. I’m okay! I just need to eat more fiber and take the meds she gave me for the next five days. However, she felt up my glands and asked, “Have you ever had a thyroid problem?” No… “Have you ever had your thyroid tested?” No… So I had some blood drawn and they’re going to call me back early next week. I looked up what a swollen thyroid might mean and WebMD mentioned an underactive thyroid. I have almost all of the symptoms, so I sorta hope I have a thyroid problem — it would explain so much!
  • My very first internship was working for my memver of Congress back in Indiana. He was also one of the very first people I ever voted for. His scheduler confirmed today that he will be available to officiate our wedding! YAY!!!
  • There’s a bar opening up down the street. We’ve been complaining that there’s no good bars anywhere super close. This one is practically within walking distance. I saw a Corona truck parked in front of it yesterday and today I saw a “NOW OPEN!” sign! I’m so excited to hit it up soon. Hopefully it’s good…
  • The job situation is status quo. Something good is bound to happen. I feel like I’m on the upswing. Maybe it’s the 2 1/2 beers I’ve had already. πŸ˜‰

I hope you all have a great weekend! Like I said, I’m drinking with friends tonight (they’re all playing MarioKart Wii while I blog…) but tomorrow Joe and I are running errands — going into Oak Park and picking up our wedding bands! We might try to find a wedding suit for Joe, too. And I might unveil a new blog initiative. On Sunday, we’re heading back to Indiana to leave his car at my dad’s. Plus it’s father’s day. I sent my dad a Coldstone Creamery gift card, so maybe we’ll go out for ice cream. πŸ™‚Β  Stay positive, folks. It all works out!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 1:51 pm

    Woo hoo! I’m glad things are looking up πŸ™‚

  2. June 20, 2009 4:06 pm

    a happy entry! yay!! i’m glad things are looking up for you gorgeous, you deserve it. yay for picking up wedding bands! πŸ™‚ i hope you have a marvelous day with your Joe tomorrow! MISS YOU!

  3. June 20, 2009 5:21 pm

    Yay for Renee being happy! Your weekend sounds like it’s going to be awesome.

  4. June 20, 2009 5:42 pm

    This. Is. Awesome!! I’m so happy for you. My car needed over $2000 in repairs last year and I almost peed my pants when I found out. I ended up getting it all done for about $900 (just parts) which made me the happiest girl on the planet. All good news here makes me happy for you. Have a great weekend love!

  5. June 20, 2009 7:09 pm

    So much goodness! Yay!! My goodness is nearly taking an exam to finish my last spring class and also making travel plans galore for the summer. Whee!

  6. June 21, 2009 1:55 am

    Yay for having an officient! I will keep my fingers crossed that the upswing continues for you.

  7. June 21, 2009 3:20 pm

    I’m so thankful things are looking up again! It’ll all be all right. And beer makes everything better.

  8. June 22, 2009 3:09 pm

    This entire post made me smile.

    Glad to hear that there is indeed a silver lining for you through all the rain.

    Hope the rest of your weekend was just as wonderful as you sounded in this post!

  9. June 22, 2009 6:31 pm

    Yay for beer! The shit ton of wine I had this weekend made me feels lots better too! I’m glad things are looking up. Let me know how the thyroid thing turns out.

  10. June 23, 2009 2:10 am

    Aw, I love your attitude! Beer helps with that too lol

    I’m glad that your cousin is seeming alright, and that things are looking up. So much of it is where you keep yourself emotionally and mentally, you’re doing so well! = ) I like your style.

Leave a Reply

