Skip to content

the story of what (almost) was

July 14, 2009

I think I was underground for too long. I miss the famous-ness of blogging. I was on the cusp of that over at my old blog. I was nominated for Most Encouraging blogger without solicitation. (And I totally and shamelessly solicited my nomination for Most Opinionated.) I even had a fighting chance for featured 20sb blogger. I TRIED to be a good blogger. I had time to blog regularly and feature good information and open the floor for good dialogue and conversation.

Then I started my job, which sucked life out of everything in my grasp, especially the blog. I killed it. I couldn’t have my face plastered all over the internet next to my politics.

But I’m through with that crap and back to my old blogging voice… and I miss the online almost-fame I almost had. I miss checking my Google analytics. I miss page views in the triple digits. I miss random delurking comments.Β  I miss my modest Technorati number. I even sorta miss the dude I dated before Joe stalking my blog twice a day. And, truth be told, I miss solicitations for things like Brand About Town. (I was approached to be a Nintendo enthusiast but couldn’t do it because of my stupid job!) It was just proof that I had almost made it.

I’ve considered reopening my old blog, but chances are it’s been deleted from all those feed readers of yesteryear.Β  I wonder where it could have gone, if I could have been recognizable in the streets, if more people would have known who I was in Vegas, or if someone out there wishes they could meet ME. I’m part of the furniture now, just one of 7000+ bloggers on 20sb. I’m nothing special anymore. I blend in.

It’s okay, though. The bloggers who really mattered to me all followed me here. Really, you guys, I absolutely adore you. And you know who you are. There are a key few that I wonder, “Did they not update my info when I sent the email? or do they think I’m just boring and unimportant now?” It’s one reason why I kept my old gmail address.

In a way, blogging will always be a popularity contest. I try not to dwell on it but sometimes it gets a girl down, ya know?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 1:30 am

    you’re amazing. i’m sure in time this blog will gain the following you had before. maybe post on the old blog to let people that still have you in their reader know you moved? But everyone that looooves you followed you here, so no worries. xo

  2. July 14, 2009 1:31 am

    You are not the only one that is noticing an internet silence. It seems to be universal. People I talk to say the same thing, it just seems more quiet out there. I think it’s because most of us are approaching the 1st-2nd year of blogging. The honeymoon stage is over, we are settling down now, letting ourselves go a little, farting a little more.

  3. July 14, 2009 1:34 am

    I can relate to a lot of this. I haven’t switched blogs but I’ve become wrapped up in so many other parts of my life that blogging has sort of taken a back seat. It’s always bittersweet when you notice your comments/stats on the decline but I try and remember that’s not why I started blogging in the first place. But still, I know what you are saying, I definitely, definitely know what you are saying.

  4. July 14, 2009 1:59 am

    I hear ya–The Spotted Ottoman never got terribly popular, but it was enough for me. I’m pretty sure a lot of people are going to get left behind now that I have switched over.

    On the other hand, it has been fascinating to see who sticks around, and how commenters have changed over the last year–I started my blog in a darker time, so I had a lot more people who could connect with that. Misery loves company, right? But now, things are much better, and the commenters are generally a more upbeat and thoughtful crowd. I like that.

  5. July 14, 2009 2:09 am

    Wow. Talk about the same wavelength. I’m pretty sure I published my version of this post this afternoon. It’s a funny thing, this blogging business.

  6. July 14, 2009 2:27 am

    I try not to dwell on how many comments or page views i get but it is exciting to see it sometimes, but then when it drops off I just remind myself that I’m not blogging or commenting as much as I once was. I cherish my blogger friends and the others that I’ve met through my blog. While I am by no means one of the big recognizable bloggers, I do understand what you mean. I think you will gain your following back. I do think blogging tends to takes a back seat to a lot things.

  7. July 14, 2009 2:29 am

    Honey, I’ve been blogging for more than 5 years, and I definitely haven’t “made it” in the blogging world. It goes in phases. Even if you hadn’t changed blogs, you would have hit the slump eventually. People who read your blog every day suddenly disappear. New people show up. You’ll get your following back, but you might have to slut it up in the commenting department first! πŸ™‚

  8. July 14, 2009 2:35 am

    Aww mwah, you know I’d follow you. We survived sunburn in Vegas, we can get through anything πŸ™‚

  9. July 14, 2009 12:28 pm

    I cared about how many people were coming and commenting for a while, but I stopped worrying about it a few months ago (specifically WHO was coming). Otherwise it affects what I write, and that’s the most important part.

  10. July 14, 2009 1:20 pm

    I totally get you. I was only out of commission for two months and I’m not sure that I’ll get back to where I was. What gets to me here and there is the 20SB community recognition that I lost. I feel like I’m not going to be able to get that back, and I have a hard time with that for some reason.

    Honestly, if I were you I would stay at this URL but import your old entries (they won’t show up in your RSS), add an archives module on the sidebar so people can see at a glace that you’ve been here for a while and I might go back to your old theme if you can. It will immediately identify you as the blogger they used to read.

    I use my picture on my blog a lot and I think that’s made it easier for people to find me, and when I relaunched properly I went through my old blogroll from when I exported my blog and commented on every single blog once or twice and included an “I’ve missed you!/I’m back!” message. It really helped people feel I was reaching out and like they’d rediscovered me. Just some thoughts! ❀ If you ever want to talk you know where I am.

  11. July 14, 2009 1:57 pm

    “It’s a funny thing, this blogging business.” True story!

    I think you’ve established a great community for yourself. You might not have thousands of readers, but you have found people who really care about you and what you have to say πŸ™‚

  12. July 14, 2009 2:21 pm

    Blogging really is a funny business. I think we all have different ideas of what it means to have ‘made’ it, but I definitely agree with a lot of the things you mentioned.

    While my blog has never been wildly popular, it’s still surprising whenever someone new comments. And I was thinking yesterday as I checked comments on my phone that I “know” and (actually) know most of the people who comment consistently on my blog, which is freaking awesome.

    I lost some readers when I moved to my domain, but the people who really mattered followed. It’s the same here. And it’s an awesome community, no matter how few or how many people read your blog daily. Just keep it up, and I’m sure so many more people will find you and love you, just like we all do.

  13. July 14, 2009 6:46 pm

    I’ll follow you anywhere Renee!! I get what you mean, though. You’re still bigtime, no worries! You’ll catch right back up. It’s so crazy how much that 20sb grew in the past couple of years! INSANE!

  14. July 14, 2009 6:46 pm

    I think you still have a great community around you, regardless of your move! It says a lot about a blogger when they move multiple times and lots of people still follow. πŸ™‚ But I have to tell you I so understand! I contemplated a move from blogger to wordpress, but decided not to because I didn’t want to lose my followers! So I went with an awesome redesign instead. πŸ™‚

  15. July 14, 2009 10:52 pm

    i think you’re still a rock star πŸ™‚

    and i totally knew who you were in vegas, woo.

  16. July 15, 2009 4:11 pm

    Uhm you are fantastic. Your blog DOESN’T blend in and I would KILL to meet you. Honestly, I look forward to ALL your posts, I’m probably more excited than I should be for your wedding, and I’ll never forget the video of you as Sarah Palin. The followers will come back, love. They’d be silly not to.

  17. July 17, 2009 6:41 am

    I’m still here, just have been a lousy blog friend. Damn this grad school schedule! I switched domains too, and have no clue how many people followed along. I’m trying to find my stride again… I’ve been at this for nearly four years now, crazy!

  18. July 18, 2009 10:28 pm

    I know I followed you and would continue to follow you πŸ™‚

  19. July 20, 2009 7:04 pm

    I get jealous too. It’s okay; it’s normal, methinks.

    I didn’t know the old blog but I’m glad I got to meet you and this blog, which reminds me of you (the little I do know) very much!

    I bet you can get your followers back if you want =)

Leave a Reply

