Skip to content

We’re all in the mood for a melody and you got us feelin’ alright

July 22, 2009

Last night, the boy and I ventured into the city to see Billy Joel and Elton John at Wrigley. I have officially crossed another item off my bucket list!  I’m a pretty big Billy Joel fan.

We were like Country Come To Town, driving around Wrigleyville in our Taurus, “Where’s the stadium? Should we park here? Do you think we’ll be late?” I prepared like a soccer mom, afraid we’d be on wet bleachers so I brought a vinyl table cloth, afraid I’d get cold, so I brought a blanket, afraid I’d get rained on, so I brought a trench coat and a baseball cap, afraid I wouldn’t be able to see anything, so I brought binoculars. SHUT UP, that’s how I work. Granted, we sat under a roof so the only thing I used was the binoculars (thankyouverymuch) but I’m glad I was crazy prepared. Sigh, we’ve turned into true suburbanites.

The concert was phenomenal, even from the third row from the top. I’ve actually seen Elton John in concert before, when I was 12 or 13. He wasn’t able to hit those high notes in Benny and the Jets back then so I knew not to be disappointed when he left the “la la la la las” up to the audience in Crocodile Rock. I don’t know Elton John’s music as well as I do Billy Joel’s so his set was just decent for me. He looked freaking fabulous, though.

Billy Joel rocked the place. He was much more personable with the audience and honestly, a little crude. But he’s a rockstar with bajillions of dollars, so he can do and say whatever he wants (aaaaand lord knows he does). He made some weird song choices, though. “Allentown” but not “For the Longest Time” ? “Scenes from an Italian Restaurant” but not “To Make You Feel My Love” ?  Halfway through the concert, I had to calm myself down in case he didn’t end up playing my favorites. I was coming to terms with zoning out during “Zanzibar” and singing “Only the Good Die Young” to myself. But by the end of the night and the “Piano Man” finale, Billy and sometimes Elton had played every single song I had wanted to hear. There was seriously nothing cooler than the two of them duetting “Uptown Girl” and “You May Be Right.”  I was NOT expecting to hear “She’s Always a Woman” (MY SONG!) or “We Didn’t Start the Fire” so those were highlights of my evening.

If you have a chance to see this tour, it’s so worth it to see some great legends. This was the music I grew up listening to. This is MY feel good music, my default music, the stuff that ALWAYS makes roadtrip mixed CDs.

It got me thinking, though. Who are the modern day equivalents of these icons? Who are our kids going to see in 20+ years because their parents (us) always turned up their music on the radio? I asked myself this question and came up with a few of the most significant artists currently making music: John Mayer, Coldplay, Green Day, Kelly Clarkson.  Who would you add to this list?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 10:43 pm

    They were in Columbus a few weeks ago, I had something else going on that evening, now I wish I had gone. Le sigh. So glad that you had a great time! No shame in being a suburbanite.

  2. July 23, 2009 7:14 am

    How funny, I’m just the opposite; I know more Elton than I do Billy Joel. When we saw him a couple years back he played a 3-hour set that was out of this world!

    I heartily agree about Coldplay, but really only since their most recent album. One of my personal favorites these days is Scary Kids Scaring Kids, but they’re not terribly mainstream. Still, I’ve seen them three times in the last two years and cannot get enough of their live shows.

  3. July 23, 2009 7:14 am

    Oooh! Oooh! Ben Folds!!! I love him.

  4. July 23, 2009 2:31 pm

    Oh my goodness that’s a good question. I would have to echo Phil with Ben Folds and also add The Hold Steady, The Weakerthans and Jimmy Eat World.

  5. July 23, 2009 3:19 pm

    I think it will depend on which part of music we are focusing on. Green Day! Pearl Jam? (or is that too old because I saw them in high school!)

    I’m inclined to say Dave Matthews Band but I could be wrong.

    oh, and the Killers. That I’m certain of!
    I would have died if he had sang She’s Only a Woman =)

  6. July 23, 2009 4:13 pm

    My friends and I were talking about the same thing last night. Artists of today who will be icons? Few and really freaking far between.

  7. July 23, 2009 5:02 pm

    1.) I am very jealous.
    2.) Red Hot Chilli Peppers

  8. July 24, 2009 4:47 pm

    god i love billy joel. LOVE him. my cousin went to the show over the weekend and got to MEET him. holyhell. id die.

    michael buble is up and coming as this eras…. sinatra? maybe?

  9. laura251 permalink
    July 26, 2009 8:34 am

    I went to his concert a couple of years ago and it was AMAZING. He even played the piano with his bum. Now that’s talent!

  10. July 29, 2009 6:39 pm

    Hi!
    I just stumbled upon your blog via yourwishcake, and you’re from the Chicagoland area? Me too…well, sorta. NW suburbs.

    Congrats on your soon-wedding!

    I’ll probably lurk around your blog for the rest of the day!

  11. August 4, 2009 6:24 am

    I saw Billy and Elton in concert a few years ago and I was so bummed that I couldn’t go again! I’m glad it was amazing 🙂

    And I HOPE the modern day equivalents include John Mayer and The Fray. Because that’s all that I need in my life!

Leave a Reply

