Skip to content

Wrapping up…

August 1, 2009

It’s the FINAL COUNTDOWN (yes, I intend for you to sing this in your head). It’s our last weekend of living in sin. Hell to the yes. We’re enjoying Coronas and lounging on the couch after having bought new black dress shoes for Joe and new silver sandals for my rehearsal dress. (FUN.)

But I’ve been thinking…

I always secretly wanted someone from my past to come out of the woodwork and tell me, “No! Don’t marry that guy! I’ve loved you since we were 8 years old!” That’s definitely not going to happen, but it would be so dramatic and so enticing to say, “Sorry, Mr. So-and-So, I’ve made my choice and you’re too late. Besides, you got ugly.” Not that I’m second guessing my decision to marry my Joe. I just like a little drama and knowing someone somewhere might be pining after me like some crappy fairy tale.

I’ve been wanting to clean the apartment so we don’t come home to a messy apartment as a married couple. But, that’s a LOT of work, especially since the gifts are coming in already and the living room is stocked with empty boxes and a tea kettle, bathroom towels, a waffle iron, and new silverware. Oh, and wedding party gifts. So I’m thinking, what’s the point? We live in this mess as an engaged couple. We lived in this mess before there were rings. Why can’t we come home to this mess as a married couple? Or am I just making excuses? (Yes.)

I can’t wait for these wedding expenses to go away. Luckily, all that is really left is thank you cards and stamps. Then? That extra cash goes into savings. Or it goes into getting back in touch with ourselves. I’m so proud of Joe for wanting to become an avid biker. He is one at heart, but we haven’t had the time or money for him to pursue it. After the wedding he’ll be able to and I couldn’t be happier for him. What will I spend my extra cash on? My teaching certificate. At least, that’s the plan for now. But probably IKEA.

Is anything really going to change? We’ll have the same last name, which will be nice. But we’ll still go to bed and wake up as the same people. We’ll still fart and nag and cry and giggle like we do now. Yet there’s something EXTRA that I can’t pinpoint… something I’m SO excited for… something intangible about marriage that makes all the farts, nags, cries, and giggles just a slightly different color, just slightly more vivid. At least, that’s what I expect.

Where do I see this partnership going? Some place even more wonderful than our September trip to Barbados. Some place with endless Coronas, trust, imonaboatlaughter, and unconditional, non-judgmental, pure, encompassing love. Something that comes from some place so supportive, so warm, so fuzzy, that it feels more welcoming than a Minnetonka moccassin.

That’s what I’m looking forward to.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 8:14 pm

    I cannot even begin to tell you how excited I am for you and Joe! Being married is…well…amazing. It’s an adventure every day! Ted and I were doing some junk purging today, and I came across the book that had our wedding vows in it. It was amazing to realize that those words we had written together, spoken to each other that day actually were a reality today. Ahhhh. I love love.

    And the extra expenses now? Well, don’t worry too much about that. You do know that you’ll get a big pile of cash at your wedding, right? Ted and I sat in our hotel room opening cards with our mouths hanging open. Be sure to splurge a little on your new life together.

    Also, this comment is getting out of hand, but we are sitting in your coffee house, and I am in love. We are going to be here bugging you ALL the time!

  2. August 1, 2009 8:17 pm

    Hee.. a regular, everyday couple.. with matching last names. That’s possibly the best thing to look forward to!

    (I am now humming the Final Countdown. Ack.)

  3. August 1, 2009 9:18 pm

    This post gave me the warm fuzzies for next weekend and for the future. As someone who will eventually get married (sometime soon?), when I think of marriage, I have the same thoughts as you of those endless beers, trust, laughter and love. It just seems so different, even if the relationship simply has a different name. I cannot wait to hear about it!

    I am so excited for you and Joe. I seriously cannot believe that it’s a week away!

  4. August 2, 2009 12:39 am

    PARTY! PARTY! PARTY!

  5. August 2, 2009 6:32 am

    More vivid farts? Now that’s romantic.

  6. August 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    It’s gonna be awesome.

    And in my short (2 month) experience, everything is slightly more vivid.

  7. August 2, 2009 4:20 pm

    Very excited for you!

  8. August 2, 2009 7:41 pm

    I now have Final Countdown stuck in my head. Also, congrats!

  9. August 2, 2009 9:12 pm

    So happy for you!

  10. August 3, 2009 1:37 am

    I’m so excited for you! I’ll forever remember him as the Beau Named Joe, just fyi.

  11. August 3, 2009 6:26 am

    Cannot wait!!!! (Just through I would share my excitement.)

  12. August 3, 2009 4:00 pm

    I’m so excited for you! I love being married. We lived together for a long ass time before the wedding, and even bought a house, so there weren’t too many surprises, but there was something extra delightful about knowing that we were stuck together permanently!

    Everything will get figured out financially–you won’t even remember that part in a year.

  13. August 3, 2009 6:41 pm

    Congrats! I’m so happy for you 🙂 May many years of bliss come to you and yours 😀 I cannot wait to be married as well.

  14. August 3, 2009 7:01 pm

    This post gave me goosebumps. The good kind! I’m so excited for you and hope that we get to be along for the journey as well, through whatever you decide to share with us =) Good luck this week with the final countdown. Sending many happy thoughts your way for a lovely marriage! xoxo

  15. August 3, 2009 11:08 pm

    Aww I can’t believe the full countdown has begun! I can’t wait to see pictures. It was awesome seeing you Friday!

  16. August 3, 2009 11:25 pm

    um this post just makes me all sorts of excited for you. yay for your wedding, i can’t believe it’s only a week away! so fun!

  17. August 4, 2009 12:36 am

    I’m kind of a new reader–I saw many of the virtual shower posts and thought it was such a cute idea that I had to find my way here.

    That’s SO exciting that your wedding is creeping up so quickly!! I remember how excited I was the week before my Hubster and I tied the knot… I hope everything goes wonderfully for you both! 🙂

    And I’m a teacher as well–what do you teach??

  18. August 4, 2009 6:03 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! =D

    I’m so excited for you to have Your Day as they all call it- you’re going to have such an amazing time, and the quiet times between the two of you leading up to the wedding will be something you’ll look back on and swoon over, I promise.

    AH! Go get married already, I can’t stand the wait!!

  19. August 6, 2009 4:28 pm

    YAYAYAYAYAYAY!
    I’m so excited for you! I keeping mental note of your countdown, eeek!
    Two days!

    Enjoy your wedding!

  20. August 6, 2009 8:17 pm

    I had the same thoughts about what would change after my husband and I got married since we were already together for 7 years and living together. For us it was weird saying “husband” & “wife” and I was excited when we finally put our money together in 1 account! No more withdrawing & depositing in each other’s accounts. Also it was weird at first seeing a ring on my husband’s finger.

    I can’t wait to hear all about your wedding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

