Skip to content

The Types of People Your Barista Adores

August 28, 2009

I love my job. I love the people at my job, except for the people in the last post. But luckily they are few and far between. (Seriously, upset customers at a coffee shop like mine are rare.) Now I present to you what makes me love my job,
The Types of People Your Barista Adores

  1. People who order for the whole office but are crazy considerate and really apologetic about their huge order
  2. The moms who ask for a broom to sweep after their messy kids. Your barista will take care of it but she won’t hate you anymore because at least you offered.
  3. The stitch and bitch group of old ladies who knit together and order iced tea and raspberry crumb bars and say, “Thank you, love” when you give them their change.
  4. The professional guy who visits at 6:30 am and shows you pictures of his Las Vegas trip on his iPhone.
  5. The British couple who tells you the cappuccino you made was “lovely!”
  6. People who just want plain old coffee.
  7. The guy who owns the wine store next door. For so many reasons.
  8. The regulars who always tip way more than is necessary.
  9. The feisty older woman with spiky grey hair and fabulous lipstick that calls me “chica.”
  10. Everyone who walks through that door and pays no attention to my 4:00am hair and lack of makeup hot mess. Thank you.

I seriously adore my customers. They say the funniest and nicest things. Always be friendly to your barista because, chances are, she wants to help you and she wants you to like your drink. And if you need a suggestion, she’s probably full of them so it doesn’t hurt to try something new!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren From Texas permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:38 am

    I like this! Glad there are also some good things about the job šŸ™‚

  2. August 28, 2009 8:38 am

    I want you to be my barista.

  3. mrssoup permalink
    August 28, 2009 11:05 am

    I want you to be my barista too! That’s fabulous.

  4. August 28, 2009 11:32 am

    Gotta love the people who just want a nice cup of black coffee.

  5. August 28, 2009 2:34 pm

    i’ll come to your coffee shop šŸ™‚

  6. August 28, 2009 11:20 pm

    I cannot imagine you looking like a hotmess. Just saying. šŸ™‚

  7. August 29, 2009 1:03 am

    Yay! You don’t mind me for my asking for suggestions!

  8. August 29, 2009 10:16 pm

    If I lived near you, I would totally ask you for a recommendation. And visit your coffeeshop often.

    I’m so happy to hear you’re loving your job!

  9. August 30, 2009 10:40 pm

    thank you thank you thank you on behalf of all of us who have ever been or will ever be baristas. these two lists are so freakin’ true. i did my senior marketing internship with an organic coffee place and then stayed through the summer to barista in one of those drive-by coffee huts. by the end of the summer i was managing the mall location, and most of those people were nuts. šŸ™‚

  10. August 30, 2009 11:23 pm

    I really, really, really like the word “barista.”

  11. August 31, 2009 8:50 am

    This is so sweet- I also loved people who freaked out when I made foamy hearts on top of their lattes. Too cute =)

  12. dreamstela permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:05 pm

    Agreed. Completely.

    My fave on the list is the people who offer to clean up their own mess. Yep, we’ll clean it for you, but the fact you offered totally made my day!

  13. August 31, 2009 2:38 pm

    Old people are so polite! I love it when they break out the old fashioned words like “doll,” and “love.”

    Glad the ne job is going well for you =)

  14. AshinMT permalink
    October 7, 2009 5:32 pm

    I actually just found your blog today. Loving these Baraistaisms. I used to be a Barista as well and really took pride (i know.. getting all mushy here) in what i made for my favorites. Your post makes me miss being a Barista even at five am, and loathe my desk job. I will pull perfect shots once again! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

