Skip to content

Simon Cowell, turtles, and a promotion

September 21, 2009
the view from our window

the view from our window

We’ve returned home safely after our Bajan Vacation. (That’s the word they use for things from Barbados – Bajan, sounds kinda like Beijing.) Everything was absolutely wonderful; the food, the people, the resort, the warm water, the warm weather, the fact that our resort was located right next door to one of Simon Cowell’s TWO mansions on the island… true story.

It was truly tremendous. The neat thing about Barbados is the fact that it’s a British island so the marketing in the UK is obviously much more prevalent than in the US. We literally met only three other American couples in the resort. Definitely not something I had even thought of; in fact, I figured many of the tourists would be from South America since the island is a stone’s throw from Venezuela.

We didn’t do a whole lot, really. Notably, we snorkled and swam with turtles (and a surprising sting ray cameo!) but aside from that, we took it easy. Lots of pina coladas, lots of sweet white wine, lots of fried fish and coconut ice cream. We made friends with crickets the size of mice (we named the one on our ceiling Charlie), lizards the size of crickets (we named the one outside our window Franklin), and the resort’s many kittens. Yes, kittens. Sigh. Writing about it only makes me want to be there right now.

For months, I would see a plane in the sky and think, “In so many days, I’ll be on one heading to Barbados.” Well, shit, now what? (I’ll tell you what… we’re already talking about our next vacation… and Greece has been mentioned.)

But now I’m home in the ‘burbs, with a fantastic head cold (gross) and a crick in my shoulder (ouch) that just won’t quit. But I came home to a very exciting little change of pace–

I officially accepted the position of manager at my coffee house!

Initially, I didn’t want it. But I worked with the owners to make the position exactly what I wanted it to be while still maintaining what they need the position to be. Namely, I’ll get to dabble in marketing and (fingers crossed) social media. And it’s all on paper. And I won’t work weekends.

So it’s time to settle in. Fall is around the corner and I’ll need a new winter jacket soon. And when it’s -30 degrees and I’m scraping my car at 4:30am before work? You better believe I’ll be wishing I’m in Barbados. But right now? Right at this very moment? Illinois is quite alright.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 4:23 pm

    yay! welcome home!!! and congrats on making that promotion work for you 🙂

  2. September 21, 2009 4:25 pm

    Sounds fantastic! And congrats on the promotion 🙂

  3. September 21, 2009 4:25 pm

    CONGRATS on the promotion! How exciting is that???

    And Barbados? I’m super jealous. I can’t wait to hear about the Grecian plans.

    Rest up & Feel better.

    Oh, and I’ll see you in less than a week! Woohoo!!! Get ready for pictures to be taken =)

  4. September 21, 2009 5:24 pm

    Congrats on the vacation and the promotion! That’s totally not surprising, soon you’ll be on their board of directors 😉

    I can’t wait for my honeymoon next week, this has me totally geared up for it!

  5. September 21, 2009 5:24 pm

    I’m a newbie here but I’ve been reading your blog since your delightful “what 20sb means to me” video blog.

    congrats on your promotion and barbados sounds amazing!!

  6. September 21, 2009 6:05 pm

    welcome back lovely! i’m glad your vacation was amazing & YAY PROMOTIONS! life is amazing sometimes, huh? xo

  7. September 21, 2009 6:10 pm

    This makes me want to go back to the Dominican Republic. God I miss that place. Good to hear the vacation was everything you dreamed of and congrats on the new position!

  8. September 21, 2009 6:16 pm

    Mmm your vacay sounds prefectly lovely… isn’t it always so sad when they end and you have that brief period where you’re not sure what to look forward to?

    Congrats on your promotion! That’s SO exciting. I hope the position works out beautifully for you. 🙂

  9. September 21, 2009 6:29 pm

    Welcome home, and I CANNOT wait to come see you managing that place!

  10. September 21, 2009 6:32 pm

    Your honeymoon sounds lovely. I’m really craving a vacation right now.

    Congrats again on the manager position! 🙂

  11. September 21, 2009 8:22 pm

    Welcome back and congrats on the promotion!

  12. September 21, 2009 9:14 pm

    Wow what a great view! So glad you’re back and of course that you had fun 🙂

  13. September 22, 2009 1:43 am

    If I was in your neighborhood, I’d want to go for coffee and hear all about your honeymoon. It sounds like it was such fun!

  14. September 22, 2009 11:13 am

    welcome back and congrats!!!

  15. September 22, 2009 12:16 pm

    Sounds amazing! Wow! KITTENS?!?!!?!

    Glad you had a great time! & Congrats on the managerial position!!

  16. September 22, 2009 2:28 pm

    Congratulations on your promotion. My sister is the cafe managers at a local Borders and loves it. Well, she loves it more than running her own coffee shop, which she did and it tanked. I don’t recommend it.

  17. September 22, 2009 4:55 pm

    I could not be more jealous. Sounds like a fabulous time, and that view? Gorgeous.

    Congrats on the new position and best of luck!!

  18. September 22, 2009 5:25 pm

    You did a great job at making me jealous. 😉 All that and doing nothing but just being with the one you love and in paradise is awesome!

    Congratulations on your promotion!

  19. September 24, 2009 12:26 am

    I’m glad you had such a great honeymoon, and congrats on the promotion. Hooray!

  20. September 24, 2009 2:52 pm

    It was so, so, so, SO wonderful seeing you this week 🙂

  21. September 26, 2009 3:31 pm

    I wanted to go to the Barbado’s for my Honeymoon… I found a quaint little resort right on the beach, but My husband did not like the way the Island’s name sounded.. he thought it sounded barbaric

    so we ended up going to Aruba

  22. September 29, 2009 12:21 am

    Congrats again on becoming manager of your coffee shop! Greece is pretty amazing but I would stay on the islands, much prettier and everything you expect Greece to be!

Leave a Reply

