Skip to content

I never said it would be easy

October 2, 2009

Let me tell you about my end of the financial cleanse so far. We began October 1, which, as you’re aware, was yesterday.

October 1 started like this at work:
“Oh man, I’m so hungry. I wish I could buy one of these ham and cheese paninis we make. My peanut butter sandwich just isn’t doing it for me.”

October 1 continued like this:
“Shit, why do I always have to pass Sonic during happy hour? When was the last time I got an 85 cent limeade? Last week? TOO LONG! I need one now. 85 cents won’t hurt anyone, right? Eff. We need to SAVE those 85 cents!”
“Oh no! I forgot to go to DSW before my $10 gift certificate expires this month! I can’t use it now! UGH WHAT WILL I WEAR ON MY FEET?!”

October 2 started like this at work:
“Holy crap, why does that raisin cinnamon bagel smell SO GOOD?? Stop toasting those! I need one!”
“WHAT!! We got a new batch of my favorite flaxseed bars?! STOP IT.”
“Friday night is for wings and beer. Can the boys bring the beer over and I’ll make chili? This chili SO does not live up to wings.”

And the kicker?
“Why is my car JERKING so violently? WHY is my check engine light BLINKING?! Please make it home, Miss Mazda!”

So two days into the financial cleanse and I have successfully avoided splurging on a ham and cheese panini, a strawberry limeade (even 85 cents is spending!), a bagel, a flaxseed bar, wings, and beer.
However, tomorrow I will have to throw money into my poor car. It shouldn’t feel like it’s strapped to a rocket and ready for blast off.

Oh, what I would give for a caramel apple cider right now on this rainy night… but even with my employee discount, that’s not ZERO DOLLARS (aka my budget).

It’s going to be a long ass month.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 6:50 pm

    Whenever I put such stringent restraints on myself, I want everything. Every. Little. Thing. Maybe allow yourself $20 this month to get those tiny treats? It helps me save so much money.

  2. Steph permalink
    October 2, 2009 6:59 pm

    Ugh, don’t cars just WAIT until times like this?! Gag!

    Ever since we did our money makeover, it is painful to spend money! But it is also painful to NOT spend it! So frustrating!! Hang in there girl!

  3. October 2, 2009 7:05 pm

    HA!! good for you. i totally know how hard it is… not fun! you can do it though 🙂

  4. October 2, 2009 7:26 pm

    There is no happy medium. Good for you though for not spending the money!

  5. October 2, 2009 10:22 pm

    You can do it! And I kind of wish I could.

  6. October 3, 2009 7:03 am

    I feel for you, especially on the carmel apple cider! When I try to cleans and then I splurge on something, I usually go on a binge splurge and ruin the whole thing! Good luck with the rest of the month!

  7. October 3, 2009 10:17 am

    Good luck! That is so hard. Especially when you just want something for .85 cents. I don’t think I would have self control for something like that!

  8. October 3, 2009 3:58 pm

    I feel for you with wanting those little things, especially for the stuff at your coffee shop. I have 50% off of everything at mine and I can easily make $1.85 sound like nothing in my head, even though, like you said, it all adds up.

  9. October 3, 2009 5:50 pm

    Stay strong! I can’t even say no to regular toast let alone cinnamon raisin bagels. You are a far stronger woman than i am. As for the DSW coupon, maybe you would feel better if you gave it to someone else? That way, it isn’t wasted, you’ve made someone else happy, and you’ve spent $0.

  10. ohhayitskk permalink
    October 3, 2009 7:31 pm

    i should totally do this. you’ve inspired me.

  11. October 4, 2009 9:38 am

    *sigh*

    The fun part of saving only comes when you actually get to spend it later. Isn’t that just the kicker?

    We’re on a bit of a cleanse too… except for the part where I cheated and bought 3 new shirts yesterday. Oops. haha

  12. October 4, 2009 7:50 pm

    It will get better. The first few days are the challenge and the real test. Soon, you won’t even think or notice these things.

  13. October 4, 2009 8:17 pm

    You’re a rockstar. And can totally do this. And will feel all kinds of magical and proud when you really do it.

  14. October 5, 2009 10:16 am

    My Mazda is also acting up when I’m on a budget. She needs new shocks :p.

    Maybe it’s the universe’s way of reminding you why you’re cleansing? Keep at it, you can do it!

  15. October 5, 2009 10:56 am

    Your financial cleanse is like my body cleanse. As soon as I declare it, I crave everything junky in the world. It’s pretty awful.

    I’m sure you can keep it up, though I’m sure it won’t be easy.

    Maybe learn how to make strawberry limeades at home? =)

  16. October 5, 2009 2:22 pm

    But that’s awesome you saved some bucks here & there! Keep it up. We had a similar episode this weekend. Husband wanted homemade pizza for dinner and I told him NO because we would have to buy stuff to make it.

    It’s nice to know we’re not the only one trying to save money and not spend.

  17. October 6, 2009 9:34 am

    I’m sure the first few days – or even full week – will be the most difficult. Then you’ll get settled into a routine, of sorts, and it’ll become that much easier. Just like starting anything new, the beginning is always the worst part. You can do it! Plus, I want to see someone do it before I even contemplate trying it out.

  18. October 6, 2009 10:06 am

    No way! I’m having pretty much the exact same situation. I’ve been cutting out the Full Throttles from my work day diet (saving me $2.02 daily) & THEN my mazda (coincidence? hmm) decided to make a weird vibrating noise under the hood. & THEN my cat decided to get sick. Which means, Friday, after saving $10.10 from my lack of energy drinks, I’ll be heading to my vet appointment, and then my car appointment.
    Maybe next month will be better for us?

Trackbacks

  1. Focused, Frugal & Fun for (F)all | kaileenelise

Leave a Reply

