Skip to content

A very Food Network plea

October 27, 2009

I want a Food Network show. I’ve decided I will only feel truly successful if I have a Food Network show. Not only do I consider Guy Fieri and Duff Goldman my bffs, I also subscribe to the Food Network magazine and talk back to Giada like I know more Italian than she does.
Regardless, here’s my plan.

I’m kind of a kickass barista, in case you haven’t heard. So kickass that I’m considering going to advanced barista school where part of the curriculum is learning how to compete in barista competitions. That’s the first step to my Food Network show. I will learn how to compete and then I will compete. There’s a Midwest Barista Competition that I had hoped to go to this weekend, but I had to volunteer to work my Halloween. That’s okay. I can’t compete yet. I don’t have mad skillz to drop yet. Here are the steps to getting a Food Network show after I graduate from barista school:
1. Compete in a barista competition.
2. Win barista competition.
3. Win other barista competitions.
4. Food Network must host a Food Network Challenge: Latte Art or something equally awesome/coffee related.
5. Win Food Network Challenge: Mocha Madness.
6. Show Food Network how cute and bubbly I am and how good of a barista I am.
7. Get my own show. Travel to independent coffee roasters and a) drop some knowledge on those baristas and b) taste delicious home-roasted brews and discuss the nougaty aftertaste and hints of lemony berry of certain blends. (See? I speak coffee tasting!)

But seriously, Food Network, let’s get on this. Some people plead to Google, others plead to Etsy. I plead to my true love, Food Network and coffee. I know my stuff. I’m super cute. And I drink a lot of coffee.
Who’s going to help me?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 10:13 am

    It would be awesome if you were on a show about competing to get your own show. Like Design Star on HGTV, where the winner gets their own design show. Then, you’d win everyone’s hearts during the competition, so your ratings would skyrocket as soon as your personal show hit the airwaves.

    I’d totally go online and vote for you every week, like I did for Antonio all season 🙂

  2. October 27, 2009 10:20 am

    Ooh! Can you do the designs with your foam? I used to be able to make hearts and it drove people wild. I think it’s a key advanced barista skill.

    I will back you for HGTV or Food Network, if you ever need a sea of rabid fans I think you have a pretty good start on that here!

  3. October 27, 2009 10:24 am

    I support this wholeheartedly!

    The first time I encountered a talented barista was when I lived in Iowa…I was surprised to find that me delicious coffee beverage had the shape of a leaf in it.

    Mars Cafe in Des Moines, IA…I miss you.

  4. ReinventingAmy permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:09 am

    I’m a huge support of this… if you come to MN and make me coffee 🙂 Then I will do all the PR so you win a show 🙂

  5. October 27, 2009 11:21 am

    I have officially named myself your marketing manager/social media pimper-outer/publicist.

    You are SO DOING THIS and I am SO DOCUMENTING it.

    Let’s go. Now. Dibs on Duff. You can have Guy.

  6. October 27, 2009 11:21 am

    I love it! 🙂 And I love that your job is sending you to advanced barista school. That is amazing.

  7. sarahdotcom permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:22 am

    There was just a barista competition in vancouver, you were the first person who came to mind when i heard of it!
    i’m with the girls above – in full support!

  8. October 27, 2009 2:23 pm

    You ARE super cute. Make this happen.

  9. October 27, 2009 4:26 pm

    That would be amazing! I would definitely watch your show. :]

  10. October 27, 2009 4:36 pm

    Sounds great! I’m loving that you’re in love with your job. It’s really great to hear.

  11. October 27, 2009 8:16 pm

    Remember when your job sucked your soul? Remember how now it’s awesome? That makes me so happy for you!

  12. October 27, 2009 8:20 pm

    Dude if that Barista competition is in the city, I am SO GOING and making signs to cheer you on. I’ll do it.

  13. October 27, 2009 9:28 pm

    I would tooooototototally give you your own show if I had the power. After looking through your wedding pics (because I LOVE the lovely Erin Parker’s work and I love weddings) and of course your famous vlog… I can just tell you’d be an awesome host. That is all.

  14. October 28, 2009 10:09 am

    Sounds like a unique show idea to me. I’m on board, ha.

  15. October 28, 2009 2:26 pm

    I’m definitely intrigued by the barista competitions. I think there is one in StL once a year. So you should come here and do your barista thing and I’ll cheer you on =) And then we’ll campaign the Food Network to get you on a show as long as I can be your event planner!? Seriously though, so excited for you!

  16. October 28, 2009 3:42 pm

    That sounds like an awesome plan to me! I would buy cable just so I could watch you on Food Network. I love Guy. Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives is pretty much a favorite. I want to go to all those places and eat all those things.

  17. October 29, 2009 9:24 am

    I completely support you in this 100 percent. I don’t know how, but let’s make it happen!

  18. November 1, 2009 1:27 pm

    much like your house-nesting, i am already setting you on my dvr. : )

  19. November 8, 2009 11:05 pm

    Latte art is so much fun! I was doing pumpkins for awhile, but sadly, most of them never get seen….because I’m required by heathcodes to put a lid on freaking everything….

    I’m working on a tree…

    So, I’d totally watch your show!

Trackbacks

  1. Garfunkel and Oates « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

