Skip to content

Movin’ On Up!

October 30, 2009

In case you haven’t been following along on Twitter, there’s some exciting news in the Renee and Joe household. We’ve leased a HOUSE! Yes, we took your advice, we’d already crunched the numbers. We know this is feasible. We might have to cancel Christmas between the two of us, but it’s worth it to join the ranks of Real Married Couples with Yards and Garages and No More Noisy Neighbors Who Share Our Walls.

This house is what realtors would call quaint. Or cozy. Or any other word that’s used as a euphemism for small. It looks like a little box on the corner of an adorable neighborhood, but when you walk in the front door, you’ll understand how much time, money, and effort the landlord has thrown into this place. It’s been almost entirely remodeled, with wood laminate floors, new countertops, lots of colored paint, and all new bathrooms. (Seriously, these bathrooms are ridic.) I’m already picturing our furniture in this place. (Which begs the question – how do you think our sage couch will look in a tan and burgandy living room? Hideously Christmasy or warm and awesome?) I’m already planning which corner our Christmas tree will occupy. I’m already putting rugs in bathrooms and organizing closets and designating cabinets. I’m planting a garden and grilling brats on the patio. I’m composting. I’m doing all those things in my head that I’ve been wanting to do since I moved out here. Oh shit, I’m nesting.

We’re excited.
And we need a snow shovel.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 3:36 pm

    That is very exciting! Congratulations!

  2. October 30, 2009 3:40 pm

    there are not even words for how excited i am for you and joe. this is amazing and i’m so glad you’re doing this! 🙂

  3. sarahdotcom permalink
    October 30, 2009 4:43 pm

    Yay! Yay! Yay!

    Soooo excited for you two! The new place sounds AWESOME.

  4. October 30, 2009 5:00 pm

    Congratulations!!!! I did the same thing planning on where the Christmas tree would go when we viewed our house.

    I can’t wait to see pictures!

  5. October 30, 2009 5:42 pm

    “Oh shit I’m nesting.”

    I LOVE YOU. And also? congratulations.

  6. October 30, 2009 6:20 pm

    aw yay!! congrats!! so exciting. woo.

  7. October 30, 2009 7:33 pm

    Yay! I can’t wait to see the house!

    And yeah…scraping the car windows sucks, but it’s nothing compared to shoveling the driveway. That’s a boy job in our house, by the way.

  8. October 30, 2009 11:39 pm

    Woo hoo! I’m excited to see it!

  9. November 1, 2009 10:00 am

    Hooray for y’all! This is SO exciting, and it makes me really excited to get a house of my own for the same reasons.

    When do y’all move?

  10. November 1, 2009 1:30 pm

    cannot WAIT to see photos! so excited for you guys. having a garage is a must in my life. i think your couch will look awesome! : )

  11. November 1, 2009 2:27 pm

    Congratulations!!! When are you moving in? I’m going to hold off sending my card to you unless you’ll have your mail forwarded lol Let me know!

  12. November 1, 2009 4:34 pm

    Yay! That’s so exciting. When do you get to do the big move? You better put up lots of pictures.

  13. November 1, 2009 8:59 pm

    Oh Renee!! SO exciting!! I can’t wait to see pictures of how you decorate it!

  14. November 2, 2009 12:33 am

    Yaaay! I am SO excited for the both of you. & I can’t wait to see pictures of the new place 🙂

  15. November 2, 2009 1:28 pm

    Congratulations!!! How exciting!

  16. November 2, 2009 3:00 pm

    That’s great news! I hope you feel the weight lifted off your shoulders! 🙂

  17. November 2, 2009 6:08 pm

    Yay, congrats hun. Cannot wait for you to share pictures of the new place.

  18. November 13, 2009 11:24 am

    Congrats on the house!!! That’s so awesome and exciting!!!

  19. November 15, 2009 1:48 pm

    How exciting!! We have lived in our “quaint” little cottage for about two and a half years now, and we’re finally moving up to a bigger two bedroom house rental. You’ll love it; you’ll learn how to keep such a small place spotlessly clean because in a tiny house, everything much have it’s place otherwise you’ll just go nuts!

Leave a Reply

