Skip to content

Mom always said I should be a writer. And mothers are always right.

November 19, 2009

I’m beginning to see blogging, my blog, and myself as a blogger in new lights.

I’ve recently taken to calling myself a writer. I normally write for myself and myself only but when I asked a local business owner if I could profile her business for a blog, she asked if I was a writer. I surprised myself when I answered, “Yes.” I affirmed the suspicion my mother had always had- I’m a writer and I was meant to be a writer.

My blog, however, has been a space for reflection and fluff. I’m learning that a blog has two purposes- reflection and promotion. The more I learn about social media, the more I see the Internet as a tool to truly brand ourselves. But even more than that, a blog can be the platform for becoming you.

So I’m going to take this blogging thing more seriously. I’m going to hone my writing instead of writing fluff and publishing fluff without a second thought or edit. I’m going to make writing my craft instead of my hobby. And one day, maybe I’ll be able to work in a coffee shop… this time at a table with a laptop, not behind the espresso bar.

I guess that means I’ll have to pay for my coffee.
Worth it.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 6:40 pm

    Good for you. Go for it! Looking forward to reading more!

  2. November 19, 2009 7:03 pm

    Ted always tries to tell me that I’m a writer, and I don’t believe him. I just write nonsense, though I should try to focus a little more.

    I’m so excited that you are having this mindset change. I’m excited to read your writing.

  3. November 19, 2009 7:06 pm

    Wicked!!

  4. November 19, 2009 7:23 pm

    sounds like a great plan to me 🙂

  5. November 19, 2009 8:05 pm

    That is awesome. Can’t wait to read more.

  6. November 19, 2009 9:48 pm

    Good luck, that’s awesome.

  7. November 19, 2009 11:15 pm

    Hells yeah! As I’ve worked my way through grad school, I’ve discovered that even among things I struggle with (i.e. memorizing lots of insane shit), I do have one thing really going for me… I can write. And when it comes to grad school, it’s a definite asset.

  8. November 20, 2009 8:26 am

    I love this plan… although, sometimes it’s incredibly liberating to pound out an entry and post without looking back or editing. So don’t cut out ALL the fluff, your writing is pretty much fabulous already. 🙂

  9. November 20, 2009 10:27 am

    Awesome decision! Looking forward to seeing/reading you grow into a fabulous writer!

  10. November 20, 2009 1:30 pm

    You’re a wonderful writer. Awesome, awesome, awesome decision.

  11. November 20, 2009 3:05 pm

    Great idea, and I wish I had approached my blog that way. Well, sort of. I took blogging very seriously and would only write about topics, issues, etc., but without anything inspirational or thought-provoking to say, I find myself falling into fluff to avoid allowing the blog to collect dust.

    Any advice to fix this? Ha.

  12. Nick permalink
    November 22, 2009 8:08 am

    This is great Renee! If nothing else writing will force you to refine your thoughts and think about how to most effectively communicate your message.

    I never listened to my lit professors and pursued writing. Now I do it for the challenge. If you’re a perfectionist, writing is the perfect antidote to boredom!

    I’ll keep reading your thoughts here!

  13. November 23, 2009 9:37 am

    You ARE a writer. And a damn good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

