Skip to content

These are not excuses.

December 1, 2009

I’ve neglected my blog. I forgot my two year blogoversary.

Maybe I was intimidated by my own goal of writing something worthwhile.

Maybe I moved one weekend and spent the holiday two states away.

Maybe we wandered Minneapolis all day.

Maybe I met my cousin for the first time in many many years.

Maybe I met Joe’s extended family for the first time ever.

Maybe I met Doni for drinks and ate mac and cheese to cure the drunk munchies in honor of Nicole.

Maybe I slept in and drank coffee and ate myself into a stupor.

Maybe I forgot to bring anything to do for the seven hour car ride up north and opted to obnoxiously serenade my husband with rousing renditions of “Do You Hear What I Hear?” and “Holly Jolly Christmas.” For seven. hours.
(Success.)

Maybe this week I traded my blog in for gingerbread chai lattes, boxes beckoning me to unpack them, new dishes, new recipes, a darling new home, an extra-affectionate cat, more time spent with the husband, and impending trips to the thrift store to furnish a crafting nook and a basement bar.

Maybe life offline is just as good as it gets. And maybe sometimes, just sometimes, we all deserve a little break from our (b)logged on lifestyle.
So no, these are not excuses.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 5:16 pm

    well all of those things that you might have been doing were definitely worth the time away from the blog if you ask me.

    I must say, however, that I do need your new address otherwise my fun christmas card won’t be able to reach you! So if you have a spare moment, pleas send it to me =)

    I’m also now craving mac & cheese!

  2. December 1, 2009 5:52 pm

    I’m jealous of drinks and mac and cheese. We should do that soon!

  3. December 1, 2009 7:06 pm

    Sometimes life offline is so incredibly wonderful, it leaves little time for anything else. I think we all need to step away from our blogs sometimes and just live.

  4. December 1, 2009 7:55 pm

    but if they were excuses, they would be pretty awesome ones. Esp. the drunk mac & cheese. 🙂

  5. December 1, 2009 9:03 pm

    I’m with Heidi…if these were excuses, they would be awesome excuses.

    I love, and I cannot wait to see you this weekend!

  6. December 1, 2009 9:15 pm

    Adore this. And actually, was just thinking about an offline period of time to accomplish some things I don’t get to when I’m worried about blogging or trying to find work or working or whatever. I have books to read and a room to clean and all and that just doesn’t happen when I’m plugged in, ha! And I loved having beers and munchies with you at my favorite bar here 🙂 Come back soon?

  7. December 1, 2009 10:08 pm

    we all need that escape sometimes. but at least you were busy with other “real life” things! congratulations on your new home!

  8. December 1, 2009 11:47 pm

    Totally agree – you’ve just got to turn off sometimes and hang out.

  9. December 2, 2009 12:27 am

    I fully support you eating mac & cheese in my honor. In fact, I think EVERYONE should eat mac & cheese in my honor.

  10. December 2, 2009 12:37 am

    Sounds like you had an amazing time forgetting your blog for a while =) Totally worth doing on a consistent basis I believe. It can be healthy for the soul.

  11. December 2, 2009 9:59 am

    Good for you!
    Hope the move went smoothly.

  12. December 2, 2009 10:50 am

    I couldn’t agree more about life offline being as good as it gets. That’s what the holidays are about 🙂

  13. Carolina permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:21 pm

    Love this post!
    I feel the same exact way you do right now!
    How awesome when offline life is abundantly more delicious than the bloggy world!!
    🙂

  14. December 2, 2009 4:33 pm

    i think those are all fabulous reasons to not be blogging, sounds like a fabulous time you’ve been having lately. especially the serenading your husband part,haha.

  15. December 7, 2009 3:07 am

    Your reasons are far more fabulous than mine. Kudos to all of the above.

Leave a Reply

