Skip to content

Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen: Snack Attack Edition!

January 8, 2010

I know I said I was on a bit of a blogging break, but something about tethering myself to my study books makes me want to do EVERYTHING ELSE EVER. So I present to you the weekday snack edition of Weeknight Cooking in a Messy Kitchen.

There are many reasons why I like this snack. It’s healthy. It’s easy. And it’s addicting. I’m not always a healthy eater but I AM always lazy, so that’s why this is so perfect.

1.) Start with plain yogurt. Just plain ol’ yogurt.
None of that artificial vanilla stuff, straight-up real-deal yogurt.
(Damn right, I buy the cheap stuff.)
Scoop it into a bowl, as much as you want.

2.) Throw on some lovely fresh blueberries.
If you’re feeling exotic, other berries would be good too.
But, like I said, I’m lazy. Blueberries are good.

3.) Toss some nuts on there.
(That’s what she said?)
I like almonds so I use almonds.
I tried it with walnuts, though, and that’s equally delicious.
Maybe add some sunflower seeds if you got ’em.
That would look pretty.

4.) Drizzle good honey on it.

Honey from a bear bottle will work,
but my mother in law gave us some fancy pants wildflower honey that I’ve been using.
I can tell the difference and the difference is good.

It’s like a flat yogurt parfait except way more delicious.
You could probably throw granola into the mix, but I’m plum out of that so I said screw it.
Yogurt is such a fun palate to play with, so do as you wish.
The honey makes or breaks it, though, for realz.
It adds a sweetness to the tangy yogurt that is simply addicting.

ENJOY!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 7:24 pm

    you make the silliest faces when you take cooking pictures and i love it.

  2. January 8, 2010 9:22 pm

    I love your pictures. And I also love your little recipe-thingy-doos, because even *I* can follow them without messing them up too horribly. 🙂

  3. January 8, 2010 11:48 pm

    This sounds amazing! I like almonds and strawberries. I use the artificial vanilla, but adding honey to plain yogurt is something I have to try!! Thanks! ♥

  4. January 9, 2010 8:16 am

    YES.

    I make this all the time. Sometimes I even use frozen berries and take it to work.

    SO GOOD. I adore plain yogurt – I just discovered it last year. And OH YES. It’s good!

  5. January 9, 2010 10:39 am

    YUM. I can’t wait to try that!

  6. January 9, 2010 4:37 pm

    Sounds yummy. I’m heading off to the store for ingredients now.

  7. January 9, 2010 5:19 pm

    YUM! I usually smash up bananas and mix with honey and granola in my yogurt. All sorts of awesome. Maybe I should start making that again…much healthier than frozen oreos…

  8. January 9, 2010 5:44 pm

    That sounds absolutely delicious! And I am totally craving this now!

  9. January 11, 2010 3:50 pm

    I wish I could have this much fun making a snack, ha.

Leave a Reply

