Skip to content

Radiate Love

January 15, 2010

I went to college with this girl named Megan. And this post is influenced by having recently facebook-stalked the crap out of Megan. But I’ve always admired this girl.

She lived across the hall from me my freshman year… at least, until I moved out because I lived with Jessica Simpson (ugghhh). But even though she was a good friend of my roommate’s, Megan and I could still maturely discuss some of the issues I was having with Jessica Simpson while doing laundry in the basement. It was never catty, always constructive.

Megan and I were never close. We were in the choir together for three years, but we never hung out outside of that and we were definitely never besties (though, we did share a few hotel beds on our choir tours). There was just SOMETHING that radiated from Megan. Something intangible. Looking back, it was LOVE.

Megan had this way of radiating LOVE at all times. She’s a nurse now, which makes sense. She LOVED our school. She LOVED her boyfriend (now her fiance!). She LOVED her friends. She LOVED her classes and her acquaintances and her hometown and her family and EVERYTHING about her life.

She is radiant.

When I went to Vegas to meet my blogging buddies, I had ONE goal: Be Like Megan. This girl could talk to anyone and everyone about anything and everything and somehow make them feel like a million bucks. Her LOVE of everything has always been one of the most contagious feelings. Every moment I have ever spent with her has been FUN and full of LIFE.  And you know what? I think my mantra worked. I did my best to Be Like Megan and that weekend remains one of the best in my personal history.

Negative energy tends to consume me. I can feel myself slowly coming out of a rut, but this is a climb from which I could easily slip back into the rut. I’ve told my husband a lot lately, “I used to be fun.” I’ve lost my fun and I’ve lost my luster. (And I’ve lost my day planner which is DRIVING ME MAD.)

My New Year’s resolution (15 days late – dontjudgeme) is to Be Like Megan. Radiate Love. Find Love in the Smallest Things. Make Life Fun. Love. Just Love.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 11:20 am

    you already do.

  2. January 15, 2010 11:41 am

    This is so well put- I try to be that person too, it’s more fun to live that way. ❤

  3. January 15, 2010 11:50 am

    LOVE this idea! 🙂

  4. January 15, 2010 12:07 pm

    In a word? Yes!

  5. January 15, 2010 12:19 pm

    I try to do this too as often as possible, but sometimes, you just need to not radiate anything and take a nap. That makes me feel better. 🙂

  6. January 15, 2010 12:53 pm

    Thank you for this post. I’m going through a really rough patch right now and this just really spoke to me. I think the idea of radiating love is something worth striving toward. Everyone should be lucky enough to have had a “Megan” touch their lives.

  7. January 15, 2010 1:47 pm

    I LOVE this. And really think you already do this. A lot.

    Thanks for some Friday afternoon inspiration, lovely!

  8. dylan permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:06 pm

    Ugh, people like ‘megan’ are also annoying. Half will love her, half will hate her. A friend to all is a friend to none.

    Also, you don’t have to say in “my personal history”. That’s redundant. Of course it’s personal. It’s ‘my’ history.

    Graduate student? Mm-hmm.

    • January 15, 2010 2:50 pm

      Hey Dylan, did we date? No seriously, because I dated a Dylan and he was also a massive douche. Go away now please.

      People like Megan need to be a LOT more common than they are. Too many of us get caught up in gossip and drama and our own self-interest and forget that we should just love.

    • January 25, 2010 2:50 pm

      Funny. My graduate professor began class last week with “In my own personal background…”

      Yep. Doctorate. Tenured at a top university.

      • January 25, 2010 3:25 pm

        Please. That’s redundant. Of course it’s personal.
        Tenured at a top university? Mm-hmm.

        🙂
        (Thanks, dear.)

  9. January 15, 2010 2:13 pm

    This is, quite frankly, a post all of us need to read. I think that for most of us, the whole quarter-life crisis thing and simply being a twenty-something seems to exhaust so much of our energy and joy. Sad, right? But believe me, if you ever feel that way, you are not alone.

    That’s why I’ve tried my hardest in the last couple years to rediscover my own sense of joy – and radiating love. That’s not to say I don’t fight negative feelings all the time, but I guess I’m better at managing them.

    I think that all of us have our own “Megan” who seems to be able to do it all with a smile on her face and a kind word for everyone. My aunt is like that and I’m always all, “Um, seriously? Why didn’t I get more of that gene?” Heehee.

    In any case, you are an absolute delight. You make my world a bit more sunshiney, just so you know.

    🙂

  10. January 15, 2010 2:23 pm

    Thank you for writing this. I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning and have been quietly bemoaning the small things in life. This post reminded me to put a positive spin on everything. I don’t want to be known as that grumpy girl who scowls everywhere she goes. I want to be known as the someone who radiates love. Like Megan.

    Thank you. 🙂

  11. January 15, 2010 2:30 pm

    Hey Dylan? Don’t be a dick.

  12. Steph permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:42 pm

    1. What Ben said, Dylan. Don’t be a prick you hater.

    2. I agree with so many people here who say, you are that person. It sounds so simple, but just choosing Love could really change the world. You go girl!

  13. Joe permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:47 pm

    Ditto to Ben’s comment.

    Dylan, I hope you can learn to love and be positive, because obviously you don’t have much of that in your life.

  14. January 15, 2010 2:49 pm

    Haha man his comment got snarkier and snarkier didn’t it?!

    Do what you do, my dear. We all could learn a lesson from Megan.

  15. January 15, 2010 2:58 pm

    Dylan: Your head called. It would like to pulled out of your ass, please and thank you.

  16. January 15, 2010 4:01 pm

    I want to radiate love too.
    It’s really hard for me to be outgoing. I’ve always been the shy, listener type.
    But I idolize those women/men who make friends wherever they go.

  17. January 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    awesome goal. I totally feel like I’ve lost my fun and luster as well lately… I might have to try and radiate some love 🙂

  18. January 15, 2010 7:22 pm

    i think we could all live by this motto and thank you for reminding us.

    as for dylan, he’s just a debbie downer, clearly.

  19. January 15, 2010 7:39 pm

    I love this, Renee. I remember being consumed by this idea when I went through the yoga training – love and peace and intention… Thank you for the reminder, and like Rachel said, you already do 🙂

  20. January 15, 2010 8:19 pm

    Such a fantastic idea to radiate love and I complete agree about Megan (I figured it out at the nurse part).

    Losing your planner does not equal love and I would be FREAKING out too. Here’s to hoping you find it soon!

    Ps. I’m going to call you in the next hour so we can chat about how much I love you… mmmk?

  21. January 16, 2010 3:04 am

    I think you do so quite naturally, and it’s something that’s always been evident in your words from the moment I started reading what you were writing. Sometimes we lose sight of it, but that’s why life sends us moments to remind us about it again.

    And since it’s Vegas, and since Dylan was such a hater (and since no one else has mentioned it yet…)

    “HATER TOTS ARE GOOD WITH MUSTARD!!!”

  22. January 16, 2010 12:20 pm

    I think that is a really good goal. Something more people should try. Have you thought about sharing with her the impact she made on you with her outlook on life? She’d probably love to hear it.

  23. January 16, 2010 2:19 pm

    How wonderful would Megan feel if she read this!? =)

    Thank you for this! Love is a powerful, wonderful thing.

  24. January 16, 2010 4:31 pm

    This is RIGHT ON! Any time I feel myself being all negative I ask myself if that’s how I want to be. Is that who I want to portray? Sometimes it definitely takes effort, but it’s worth it!

  25. January 17, 2010 6:32 pm

    I absolutely loved this post. Radiating love is something I’ve tried so hard to do in my life but sometimes seems so hard with all the negativity surrounding us. I’ve seen people who do it so well and I just want to BE THEM! But, yes, totally want this as well.

  26. January 17, 2010 11:18 pm

    I definitely need to take your advice on this. I don’t do it enough!

  27. January 18, 2010 2:20 pm

    I want to be like Megan too!

  28. January 18, 2010 10:26 pm

    There needs to be more Megans, and much less Dylans in this world. I loved this post and I definitely need to be more like Megan too!

    And my dear, you already are. It was so awesome to meet you this weekend!

  29. January 18, 2010 11:59 pm

    I love this post – I think everyone has a Megan…

    (Do you think the Megans would be creeped if they read our blog posts about them???)

  30. January 22, 2010 10:55 am

    this really is stated so well. i want to be like her as well. i do try to radiate love, but with some people (go figure its the ones i spend most of my time with) it is soooo hard sometimes. i’m going to make more of an effort. thanks for this post!

  31. January 26, 2010 10:47 am

    Oh gosh, I love this!

    I am quite a negative person and realise within myself that it’s not the best way to be. I’d be so much happier if I just smiled a bit more, loved a bit more. But it’s difficult.

    And what comes to Dylan’s comment? I hope he means those people who oh-so-clearly fake happiness, taking it too far and think that being happy=adhd-like bouncing up and down, screaming of glee. Hmm. Think not.

    Thanks to this post, I’m going to try to add more love in my life, try to improve my relations with people and see how it changes me as a person. I will never be a Cheerleader, but I’m done with being the grumpy and unsociable version of Eeyore.

    Thank you.
    xx

  32. Javier. permalink
    October 8, 2010 6:10 am

    Namaste.

    Thanks for the advise.

    I recomend you to read Klaus Jhoele’s book “living on love, the messenger”…you can either buy it or read it on line at k.livingonlove.com at free cost.

Trackbacks

  1. Love Harder « Puddle of Ink
  2. reverb10.10 « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

