Skip to content

Goals, I got ’em.

February 4, 2010

I’m nearing the end of my 30 Day Guide to Living Life on Purpose. Even though Stratejoy graciously donated their services to me as part of their 20sb Blog Tour, I’m getting way more out of it than just another free product.  Yesterday, as part of my third audio session, I worked out some of my Big Life Goals.  And, in understanding my Big Life Goals, I’ve also penned a few little life goals for the next year.  And, in penning my little life goals, I’ve also come up with three mini-goals to help me achieve my little life goals. Do you follow?

I’ll walk through the explanations of each in this post and I’ll keep track of all my goals and my work towards each one on a new page so you can all hold me accountable!

Top Six Most Vital Big Dreams

  1. Achieve an overall feeling of calm/zen.
  2. Cultivate a happy, supportive marriage.
  3. Excel in my career field.
  4. Work and get paid on my own time.
  5. Take yearly vacations and travel more in general.
  6. Earn a comfortable salary and manage my money wisely.

Goals For the Next Year (to be completed by February 2011):

1. Travel more
1a. Take a real vacation with Joe that is more or less a week long.
1b. Road trip somewhere in the midwest with one of my girlfriends.
1c. Go to Vegas again for another epic blogger convention.

2. Excel in my field
2a. Get into graduate school.
2b. Maintain a B or better in every class.
2c. Earn an award for school or my writing.
2d. (conditional) If I’m not yet attending classes, then publish and get paid for at least ten articles.

3. Budget responsibly
3a. Have more in our checking and savings accounts than on our credit cards (after bills).
3b. Don’t work a second job while in graduate school.
3c. Spend less than $100/week on groceries.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 6:15 pm

    You are inspiring. I absolutely adore your six big goals. Good luck with all the smaller ones along the way 🙂

  2. February 4, 2010 6:35 pm

    I like the idea of breaking up the big goals into smaller ones, it makes them seem less daunting. Best of luck!

  3. February 4, 2010 7:23 pm

    Those are some awesome goals, and I really believe you’ll knock them out! Good luck with everything, and I can’t wait to read along.

  4. February 4, 2010 7:35 pm

    i think those are some great goals, i am right there with you on the travel one. i am all about it really.

  5. February 4, 2010 9:53 pm

    This is so cool, can’t wait to hear more about it and how it goes!

  6. February 5, 2010 4:35 pm

    This is really cool. It makes these goals seem much more attainable when you break them up into more concrete goals. I like this idea!

  7. February 5, 2010 10:54 pm

    Great goals! I keep a list in my head, but I think if I wrote them down I’d get more accomplished. 🙂

  8. February 8, 2010 9:45 am

    I’m also reading something that recommends this method of goal setting! I think it’s really fabulous. Good luck with yours!

  9. awmb permalink
    February 9, 2010 9:46 am

    Wow good for you! I’ve been thinking a lot about my future as well, and have decided to just become a happier person in general. I can’t wait to hear about your progress!

  10. February 10, 2010 1:17 am

    Love it! I’m going to have to check that out. Those are all great goals and I feel I have similar ones as you. I’m really bad, though, at starting projects and never finishing them. Need to get that in order…

Leave a Reply

