Skip to content

Nerves.

February 8, 2010

The University I would love to attend has a way to track your graduate school application online. This is great but infuriating… especially since it was all submitted weeks ago and things aren’t showing up as completed.
In fact, it took a week for my personal statement to show up “Complete” after I submitted it electronically. So, call my crazy, but I hadn’t been worried that it showed my undergrad transcripts as incomplete even though I confirmed with my college that they had been sent January 8.

My deadline to be considered for an assistantship (aka JOB where they PAY ME to attend school) is February 15. Which happens to be President’s Day, so essentially it needs to be completed by FRIDAY. Which would have been fine, right? All my stuff has been submitted to my knowledge.

I called the University today to inquire about the missing transcripts on my to-do list. I was told, No, they had not been received.
Fuck.
I called my college again, my little tiny liberal arts college nestled in a little city… “I know you said my transcripts were submitted January 8 but the University never received them.”Β  So, apparently the college needs a name to address the transcripts to in order to resend them. Which would be fine, except I asked the University for a name and they gave me an institution number.

Because I cried on the phone in frustration with my alma mater about my stupid transcripts, she offered to call the University herself.

How did this go so wrong? I played by the rules, I got everything submitted in a timely matter, I worked my butt off for the GRE and my written statement… and now? I’m being screwed over because my transcripts got lost in the mail.

I don’t understand the fuster cluck that is higher education. I don’t understand why it is so hard to further my education, to be accepted to a program I want so badly, to start fresh in order to lead the life I’ve finally decided I want to lead. I need the U.S. Postal Service on my side this week. And I need the poor interns in the Admissions department to buck up and put my transcripts on the right desk.
(The thing is, I trust my alma mater, I trust that my transcripts were sent and received the second week of January. I’m certain they’re sitting in the wrong pile or on the wrong person’s desk and no one knows it yet.)

So I’m frustrated. And I’m nervous. And I just want to know what I’m doing with the rest of my life. I feel like I’m standing on the ledge of a pool and I really want to jump in to refresh myself but I need permission.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 10:58 am

    This is totally the story of the graduate school application process. I recall having to have my undergrad institution send a copy of my transcripts no less than THREE TIMES to the same school because the school I was applying to kept saying they didn’t have it. I’m pretty sure I had to have second copies sent to at least one other school as well. It sucks and is frustrating and HOW HARD IS IT TO PUT THE ENVELOPE WITH MY NAME ON IT IN MY STUPID FOLDER!? Good luck getting everything sorted out, and I’m sure eventually it’ll all work out for you!

  2. February 8, 2010 11:07 am

    I’m sorry that you are so stressed. I’ve had my fair share of higher education organizational problems when I applied for scholarships and needed lots of paperwork. I know my college is bad with sending things/following up…so I was prepared…but I still cried my eyes out from being stressed about things out of my control.

    Your grad school knows that there is a problem and if your undergrad is calling for you…that’s a plus. One thing I’ve learned is, hold someone accountable…don’t get screwed over because someone else dropped the ball!

  3. February 8, 2010 11:18 am

    One of the girls I work with is going through something similar!

    She just completed a real estate class, and in order to take the state exam she needs her transcripts. She should have gotten it the day after the final – however, it has been a FULL TWO MONTHS and she hasn’t gotten anything.

    The college dropped the ball MULTIPLE times. I’m sorry you have to go through this. The USPS will work for you, I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  4. February 8, 2010 12:10 pm

    Oh no, what a mess! Bureaucracies like colleges are often a mess of this kind of issue. I know it’s stressful, but if you make yourself obnoxious enough, they’ll do what you need them to just to get you to be quiet :p. It sucks that you have to be so diligent, but I’m sure it will all work out. Keep your spirits up pretty lady, your hard work will pay off :).

  5. February 8, 2010 1:07 pm

    I have a pretty similar story. Don’t stress over grad school applications–it’s not worth it. Which I know is TOTALLY easier to say than to do. So. I suggest ice cream and hot chocolate while you wait things out. That’s really the best way to deal with the whole ordeal. πŸ˜‰

  6. February 9, 2010 12:44 am

    I’d be so aggravated. How serious are they about the deadline? If you have everything else in, and your undergrad is letting them know what’s going on, maybe they will have some leniency. I’m hoping that the post office works, and everything is tidy and on the ball when your transcript does get.

    Good luck!

  7. February 9, 2010 7:49 am

    *hug* It’ll work out for you, I know. Because you deserve it. Hang in there!

  8. Kendall permalink
    February 9, 2010 1:02 pm

    As I am currently in grad school admissions limbo, I probably shouldn’t have read this. Hello, panic attacks.

    I personally like the suggestion from LovelyAnamoly of ice cream and hot cocoa.

    Just stay on your grad school until someone finds out where your paperwork is, you’ve done too much work to get screwed over by someone else’s mistake.

    Good luck.

  9. February 9, 2010 1:59 pm

    Sometimes I often wonder if the hassle of getting into graduate school/law school/med school is worth the actual degree you get in the end. I mean, you spend a significant part of your time taking standardized tests, filling out applications, writing essays, and getting recommendations and then when it comes time to actually apply, the school likes to royally f*ck you over (pardon my french).

    Keep your head up, lady! I know it must be a pain now but hopefully it’s going to be completely worth it in the end.

  10. February 9, 2010 2:31 pm

    Ugh! Not having any control in such important matters is the worst! I hope everything works out! You’re in my thoughts! xo

  11. February 9, 2010 3:08 pm

    Oh goodness, Renee. I’m sorry this has turned into such an ordeal. And the frustrating, tearful phone calls? No good.

    I really, really hope everything works out. All my wishes for the week are heading in your direction.

  12. February 10, 2010 1:14 am

    Ooof, you just made me really nervous for you, girl. I hope everything goes right for you. I’ll be thinking of you! Thinking positive…

  13. February 10, 2010 6:00 am

    UGH.

    I am still bitter about the fact that Mike had a debacle with a university a few years ago wherein his transcripts weren’t sent to a university because a hold was put on his account because the university he was attending accidentally turned down his AmeriCorps money when AmeriCorps tried to send it.

    He wasn’t able to go to university #2 as a result – which made us SO ANGRY at the time, but has really turned out to be the best thing for us. And his education.

    So, what I’m trying to say is (and hopefully not scaring you!) – things will work out the way they need to for YOU. And perhaps you will get lucky like Mike did with one of the PhD programs, who accepted his transcripts late. πŸ™‚

  14. February 11, 2010 11:14 am

    Ugh. I can only imagine how frustrated you are. This would make me crazy.

    You are basically one of the most awesome people I know. Good things are going to happen for you!

  15. February 12, 2010 9:59 am

    Applying to schools is already stressful so why must they make it worse!? I have no idea. If you want me to call anyone, just let me know. Maybe they will be afraid of your Italian friend!? πŸ˜‰ Hoping they get it all resolved for you.

    xoxox

  16. February 18, 2010 10:23 am

    I never understood why the bureaucracy of the higher education system doesn’t actually work to further anyone’s higher education. So frustrating!

Leave a Reply

