Skip to content

Keep Calm and Carry On

February 10, 2010

My mom said life is like surfing; you need to get under the wave in order to come out on top.
(How very Forrest Gump of her.)
(P.S. My mom has never surfed. Ever. She learned this on Samantha Brown’s show.)

I called her last night, all kinds of upset. Keep in mind that I have cut back my hours at the coffee shop… and we’ve been banking on our tax returns to pay bills. Long story short, somehow I ended up roughly $600 short this month. Cue panic attack.

But like Conan said, if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen to you.

And maybe life isn’t exactly AMAZING but things are happening and they’re happening exactly when I need them to.  (Rather, when my bank account needs them to.)

•    I made $50 in one day through freelance work!
•    I was asked to cover someone’s shift tomorrow.
•    A coworker is taking next week off and I was asked to cover some of her shifts.
•    I interviewed for a realllllly part-time hostess/server position at a cute little Italian restaurant and was HIRED today! (One shift a week, but it’s something!)

So I guess that’s four for me, Team Coco. You go, Team Coco. #onwednesdayswewearpink

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 6:57 pm

    Hi love! I’d blather on about the effects of positive thinking…but we all know those are easier to throw at other people when you’re feeling up and they’re feeling down. But the sentiment remains 🙂 Good things will happen. Trust.

  2. February 10, 2010 7:04 pm

    So glad that things seems to be working themselves out.

  3. February 10, 2010 7:05 pm

    Good things DO happen. It’s so true. I feel like every month I live needing extra money to fill the gaps.. and I always do.

  4. February 10, 2010 7:17 pm

    good things really can happen and i love hearing about. hope more good things come your way.

  5. February 10, 2010 7:18 pm

    A few summers ago I was reading a book (don’t remember what it was called) and part of it was talking about how when you REALLY need something, the universe finds a way to give it to you. I don’t really believe in that kind of stuff but I do find that this sort of thing, particularly with money, happens to me all the time. Every time I’ve been in a really bad money situation, a tutoring job has popped up, or for instance a few weeks ago I got a refund check from my school. And it’s always worked out.

  6. February 10, 2010 9:17 pm

    Jump and the net will appear. I have to remind myself over and over of that fact when the ends are not meeting. Just think of the last time you didn’t think you’d make it…but then you did. You can do it!

  7. February 10, 2010 9:18 pm

    I went through a really stressful financial period a few years ago, when I was a massage therapist and a barista to make it work—I was stressed about money all the time, but really, it always seemed to work out, no matter what. I’m so glad that you’re doing great things (grad school!) and the money and resources are following.

  8. February 11, 2010 12:18 am

    Work hard, and be kind. So simple and brilliant, I might need it tattooed on my hand. That or Team Coco 4 life.

  9. February 11, 2010 2:24 am

    Of course things are working out, as they always do. It’s so easy to get lost in the midst of everything seemingly going wrong, but I’m so glad everything is pulling together for you!

  10. February 11, 2010 9:00 am

    And none for Gretchen Weiners.

    Very happy to hear things are turning around. Hope it keeps coming!

  11. February 11, 2010 12:35 pm

    I’m a Leno fan, but I can’t get enough of Conan’s final monologue. I truly believe that good things do happen to the hardworking, kind people, and you are certainly one of them. Good luck miss, you are great.

  12. February 11, 2010 10:35 pm

    I’m going to keep my fingers and toes crossed that good things keep happening to you because you deserve them. I know exactly what you’re going through. Things will work out (for both of us!!) in the long run and that which does not kill you, will make you stronger (as my father told me the other night. I wanted to punch him through the phone.)

    Besides, Coco knows best right?

  13. February 12, 2010 9:56 am

    I’d like to know why money was invented as the form of currency. I mean, not that I want the world to be all crazy and stealing shit from each other but it’s so stressful.

    Cute little Italian restaurant? That’s awesome. Must hear more about that 🙂

    Thinking of you!

  14. February 12, 2010 10:01 am

    I needed to read something like this today. A week ago I found out my job will no longer exist a week from now, which leaves me scrambling like hell to find a new job and a new place to live asap. It’s been a little paralyzing. I’m sorry that you’re having a rough time, but it’s comforting to know I’m not the only one and good to have a reminder that something good is bound to come along. So thanks!

  15. February 16, 2010 11:39 pm

    This post makes me so happy because similar things like this? Have been happening to me, too.

    Things work out the way they need to, and yet, life surprises us with this every. single. time.

    Also? I’m wearing pink tomorrow…

  16. February 18, 2010 10:28 am

    Who knew that Conan could be so inspirational? I think if he wrote a self-help book that I would buy it immediately.

    I’m glad things are starting to fall into place for you!

Leave a Reply

