Skip to content

Things I’m Wondering Today – In Flight Edition

March 3, 2010

March 3: O’Hare to Charlotte to New Orleans

  • Where is that spot Wayne and Garth watch airplanes on the hood of their car? I want a spot like that.
  • The lakes and streams in Charlotte are a really gross shade of yuck. What’s that about?
  • Do public pools in warmer climates ever close for a season? If not, does that mean you could be a career lifeguard instead of just doing it for extra partying cash before senior prom?
  • Do airplanes have check engine lights? If so, do they stay on forever without being checked like my car?
  • Why is Captain Sully still flying? Shouldn’t he have a book deal or talk show by now? Am I going to be on the Charlotte evening news for nearly running him over in Concourse C in front of a camera?
  • Are people going to talk funny when I get to New Orleans? Are they going to think I’m the one who talks funny? Will I be called a damn dirty Yankee? (oh, I sure hope so!)
  • Am I in hell? The guy behind me keeps kicking my feet, the baby in the next aisle won’t shut up, someone is blaring crappy music, and my mouth tastes like onions. Surely this is hell.
  • The cabbie is seriously playing a DVD called “Jesus,” starring Debra Messing as Mary Magdalene. I wish I could make this shit up but I’m not that creative.
  • Glancing down on NOLA from the air, you’d never know there had been a disaster. But look closer and you’ll see you’re flying over cement slabs that used to be someone’s home. Humbling.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 9:09 pm

    Yes the outdoor pools in Australia never close. So yes there are “career” lifeguards but not as many as you think. They’re still mostly high school and college kids (probably b/c you can get away with paying them less/hourly not a salary + benefits)

    Hope that helped 🙂

  2. March 3, 2010 9:26 pm

    You most DEFINITELY are the one who has a funny accent–we Southerners? Never! I say that only because I got smirked at for saying y’all today–nice!

  3. March 3, 2010 10:24 pm

    Sully retired today. I saw it on the evening news, actually I wasn’t looking at him, I saw your tweet and wondered if you would be in the background. =)

  4. March 4, 2010 1:08 am

    Pools in Florida still close for parts of the winter – guess you’re going to have to go to australia.

    If an airplane has a check engine light it’s probably not staying in flight long enough to find out.

    People in NOLA do have weird accents – but if you drink enough you forget about it.

  5. March 4, 2010 12:10 pm

    New Orleans-area accents, I’m sure you have found, sound kind of like Brooklyn accents.

    I hope y’all are having fun! I wish I could be there with you and share a poboy from Mother’s because I REALLY want one right now!

  6. March 5, 2010 12:47 pm

    The Charlotte water is so murky because we’ve had a good bit of rain lately plus melting snow… It pulls all the clay (clay, not dirt, exists under the grass) into the waterways. They’ll clear up with nicer weather, but our waterways always look disgusting after rain and snow.

  7. March 9, 2010 3:30 pm

    I know that when we lived in Florida we never closed our pools.

    And isn’t NOLA fascinating? I was there last summer and the spirit of that town is so invigorating. It’s amazing how it *looks* like there was no disaster but as you travel around town you’ll see the signs in the oddest of spots. One thing I remember the most was the number of cats that milled around the part of town we stayed in. The neighbors all had food and water bowls out for them which kind of warmed my heart. Another thing that broke my heart was going to a nice restaurant for dinner and on the street a few houses was spraypainted still with things like “old woman alive,” “dog no longer here,” “needs help.” Broke my heart.

Leave a Reply

