Skip to content

I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike

March 15, 2010

I’ve been riding my mom’s bicycle from the 1980s for the last 6 years. Needless to say, I’m past due for a new bicycle. That one is super heavy, the tires are worn and won’t keep air, and the back brakes no longer work. On top of it, I’m married to an avid cyclist who insists on getting all the bells and whistles for his own bike. So when the hubs told me he wants to buy me a new bike for my birthday? Oh boy, I got excited!!

Over the past few months, I’ve been lusting over adorable cruiser bikes. On Saturday, we set out to find me my very own adorable cruiser bike. How fun was that?! There are lots of little bike shops in town and we hit them all. We ended up at one next to my coffeeshop and spoke with one of my favorite customers who happens to work there. They didn’t have any I loved in stock (nowhere did) but I left with catalogs and have narrowed it down to three bikes.

That’s where you come in, internet. I’m having a difficult time choosing! I’m leaning towards the peach Schwinn Hollywood because it’s a 7 speed and is more affordable than the Debuntante, but part of me wants a big, bold color.  And that Sunliner is cute and the price is right, but are palm trees appropriate in Illinois? Help me decide, blogosphere!

Schwinn Debutante, 3 speed, $449

Schwinn Hollywood, 7 speed, $399

Felt Sunliner, 3 speed, $349

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 2:59 pm

    my pick would be the first one. It’s more eye-catching.

  2. March 15, 2010 3:02 pm

    No.1! It’s only $50 more than No. 2 … And if you’ve waited this long for a bike, go for the one you’re going to LOVE!

    • March 15, 2010 3:32 pm

      It’s not that I don’t love the peach one, I TOTALLY DO, but the green is more catching, but what if I need 7 speeds for that huge hill on my way to work, but what if the peach gets dirty, but but but but…. see what I mean? Tough decision! I want them all!

  3. Leanne Behrns permalink
    March 15, 2010 3:12 pm

    I agree with Sarah — the first one is not that much more expensive, and oh, is it dreamy!

    • March 15, 2010 3:34 pm

      $50 is actually quite a bit of money on our strapped budget, so yeah… even that seems like a big chunk. If I can save money somewhere, even on a splurge, then I need to save the money.

  4. March 15, 2010 3:21 pm

    Gosh, I love them all and I’m so jealous! I like the look of the Sunliner the best, but a 7 speed sounds rather lovely. Good luck choosing miss!

  5. March 15, 2010 3:25 pm

    Dude. The Hollywood looks SO classy. They don’t have color options?

    • March 15, 2010 3:31 pm

      The other color for the Hollywood is dark blue without any details. If you click on the peach one, it has ADORABLE red flowers on the seat and by the chain.

  6. March 15, 2010 3:48 pm

    They’re all adorable and you can totally pull of palm trees in Chicago…why not?!

    • March 15, 2010 3:49 pm

      That was supposed to be “pull off.” My fingers fail.

  7. awmb permalink
    March 15, 2010 3:56 pm

    I am completely in love with the peach one. Although it isn’t as stunning as the first green one, practicality matters! Have you ever tried going up a big hill with only 3 gears? I do it with 5 and almost die every time. And if you get sick of the colour you could always customize it and get it repainted!

  8. Greg Engle permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:04 pm

    As a former bike repairing “professional” (did I fix your bike as a favor to Joe once, perhaps at the wooing stage??), I recommend the Hollywood. Seven speeds are a very good idea, especially at the end of the day… and your commute home will thank you for it. Avoid the felt, because you’ll want a better brand for longevity purposes.

    As for the wear on the lighter color, I wouldn’t worry about it too much. You know how to take care of things in the salty winters of Ilinoise, so I think you’ll be happy with it. Want a bold color? Get a baller helmet and handlebag! IT’ll look great!

    The best advice I have is to pick your bike shop carefully and keep it maintained. Don’t skimp on service when it comes to something like this!

    Enjoy!!

    • March 15, 2010 4:21 pm

      Greg, I love you. I do believe you DID fix my bike at one point… can you even recall how crappy it was 3ish years ago? Imagine it now.

      The bike shop I’ve chosen offers free maintenance for the first year. Plus, I trust the employees because they’re loyal customers of my coffeeshop.

      I’m leaning towards the Hollywood as it is, but with your professional opinion, I’m thinking it’s an 80% possibility. Better than Congress!

  9. March 15, 2010 4:57 pm

    OK, I change my answer to the Peach one! The color is quite sweet — and all those gears will come in handy! My cruiser has 6 gears (I think?) and I just use it for riding around the neighborhood. Plus, those flowers sound CUTE!

  10. March 15, 2010 4:58 pm

    I actually adore the peach one. If it were me…that would be the one I pick.

  11. March 15, 2010 5:22 pm

    Hmmm…being that I love green I automatically fell in love with the first one. Of course the cruiser with the palm trees is adorable and if anyone can rock palm trees in Illinois, it would be you! It sounds like you’re leaning towards the peach one though, but the green is my pick! 🙂

  12. March 15, 2010 7:54 pm

    I love all of these bikes but the first one is my fave. Very bright and eye-appealing. Heard you guys didn’t get Glee tickets either 😦 We were shut out too. Pissed.

  13. March 15, 2010 8:32 pm

    I would go with the 7 speeder. The color is cute and having the 7 speeds is totally necessary, even on a cruiser. But they are all super cute!!!

  14. March 16, 2010 1:04 am

    If I was getting myself one, I’d get the blue one. =) How fun to get a kick ass cruiser bike!! I’ve been lusting after them for months now!

  15. March 16, 2010 1:55 am

    Oh, and I love your post title. Nothing beats Queen 🙂

  16. March 16, 2010 7:57 am

    I want one of these so bad! I’ve been scouring Craigslist for bikes and vintage and vintage inspired bikes are my favorite. Money as no issue, I do love the boldness of the green. But, who am I kidding? I kind of want them all.

  17. Laura permalink
    March 16, 2010 11:57 am

    I’m loving the Peach one too. It’s lovely to have so many fabulous choices. I love Electra’s “Blanc et Noir.” Have you seen it? You can’t go wrong with any of those bikes. You will be smiling ear to ear regardless of which one you chose. ENJOY!

  18. March 16, 2010 9:18 pm

    I like the Sunliner, mostly because it doesn’t have the big cables and I use mine for under half hour commutes so having a really basic cruiser just works better for me. I have a baby blue Schwinn from the 1970s that I still can’t believe is really mine! Whatever you get, you’l have a ball =)

  19. March 17, 2010 2:39 pm

    The second one! I love it!

  20. March 17, 2010 11:43 pm

    I know nothing at all about bikes, but I think the peach one is a lovely color, and I’d totally smile if I saw someone coast past me on that!

  21. March 18, 2010 3:02 am

    I didn’t know they made a 7-speed beach cruiser.

  22. March 18, 2010 7:07 pm

    I’m going to vote for the Debutante. It’s so adorable and worth the extra few bucks. I guess it’s just deciding what you think of having a few less gears!!!

    http://senseofstyleiseternal.blogspot.com/

  23. October 2, 2012 9:24 pm

    What did you end up buying and why? How do you like it now? How is it holding up?
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

