Skip to content

Your turn.

March 30, 2010

Today at the coffeeshop, I watched a girl clad in t-shirt and jeans spread her books, notes, and laptop across a table. She had her earphones in and intermittently sipped on her coffee. She typed, she highlighted, she made notes. She looked productive and studious.
I pined to be her.

Instead, I’ve committed to 20 days straight of work. I picked up extra shifts at the coffeeshop on top of my usual 3 days there and 3 days at the restaurant. My work days will overlap. I won’t get a day off until Tax Day, better known as the day after my 24th birthday. On top of that, my basement looks like Ground Zero thanks to the 3-4 inches of water we collected due to an overzealous washing machine.
Oh, I would so much rather be in school right now.

That said, I’d love some guests posts blurbs for the upcoming weeks where I will be bringing home bacon instead of frivously setting words to paper screen. Your topic: Things I’d Rather Be Doing Than Working Renee’s Jobs for 20 Days Straight.
Email me, yo. Something more than 140 characters and less than Moby Dick.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 4:55 pm

    Oh, lady, I remember the days of two jobs all too well.

    I maxed out at 25.

    We’ll see how you do 😉

    • March 30, 2010 5:00 pm

      When I worked a political campaign, I did three months straight… 12pm-9pm + an hour commute both ways. I’m a tough cookie, but I could read blogs at that job!

  2. March 30, 2010 5:10 pm

    My sophomore year in college I spent the summer working 3 jobs. I opened a coffee shop (4 hrs/day), worked an 8 hour mid at a clothing store, then closed at a restaurant. 7 days a week. Let me tell you, I was exhausted!! I had 2 days off that entire summer.
    The following year I opened the coffee shop worked 8-10 hours there then closed the gym working 6-8 hours there. 7 days a week, but I got a few days off that year.

    I know how ya feel.

    xoxo

  3. March 31, 2010 7:54 pm

    I sympathize….I just visited my college last week and watched all the students in envy, walking around with their books, meeting essay deadlines and chatting under shady trees….*sigh* to be young and carefree again.

  4. April 1, 2010 4:32 am

    I’ve never had to work 2 jobs, but I have had to work 80-90 hour weeks which isn’t really fun either. I feel for you, but you’re already one tenth of the way there.

  5. April 1, 2010 6:31 pm

    I love you.

  6. April 6, 2010 6:49 am

    I would TOTALLY be learning new languages in all my free time– if I had any!

  7. April 7, 2010 2:51 pm

    Yiiikes. Best of luck handling it all!

Leave a Reply

