Skip to content

Personal Style, where you at?

April 26, 2010

I have no style. And this is not one of those posts where I secretly want you to tell me I’m wrong. What I’m telling you is 100% accurate. I have no style. No writing style, no fashion style, no lifestyle…style, nada. I don’t wind turns of phrase down garden paths to create flowery, ostentatious language in posts that leave readers drooling for more.  I’m not comfortable in stilettos so I end up in bright-colored tennies or flip flops more often than not. I don’t spend my days creating or feeling balanced or connected or introspective. I work damn hard and that’s that.

What I crave is a signature piece or a signature color or a signature… something. Something that people see and say, “Ah, yes, that’s totally Renee.” This post pretty much sums it up.

Okay, so maybe I own the same sweater as Emma Pillsbury on Glee and that makes me feel pretty darn good, and maybe I have two yellow velvet chairs in my living room, and maybe my girlfriend custom made me a handbag with an adorable owl on it, and maybe working hard and working a lot is a lifestyle style… but I feel like my personal style is static. I mean, I’m not above running errands in my yoga pants and Cleveland’s a Plum t-shirt that I won, although some days I happen to feel like throwing on a long Little House on the Prairie skirt with my trusty denim jacket and a big fat chunky necklace. Those are the days I treat myself to Jamba Juice and sit in the sunshine and think, “What do you mean I lack personal style? I AM STYLE.” But the next day I’m in my black work uniform, feeling frumpy and blah blah blah. And I think, “This about sums it up, doesn’t it?”

Doesn’t it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 1:21 pm

    Girl, we’re cut from the same cloth. I joke that my style should be called Fancy Hobo, because somedays, it’s a dress and adorable and other days, it’s whatever I could throw on before leavng the house. I find myself making more of a concerted effort to not look like a total bum. One book that really helped was Style Statement by Danielle LaPorte. It’s like $4 on Amazon, but it put things in perspective for me, for sure. I learned a lot. I’m still working on personal style, but I have learned that for me it involves a sick amount of pink, flat shoes (despite me being 5″1), dresses, and lots of black. And big jewelry. Other than that? WHO THE HELL KNOWS.

  2. April 26, 2010 2:03 pm

    Girlfriend – I feel you. That article was WONDERFUL. I feel totally outside of that circle, but I peek in and want to be there.

    Clothing style – whatever’s clean
    Writing style – lots of swears and complaining?
    Decorating style – none, accented with tears of frustration.

  3. April 26, 2010 3:34 pm

    I posted about this not too long ago, because I feel the same way! I see styles that I like, that I think could be me, but then nothing comes of it.

    Sigh!

  4. April 26, 2010 4:02 pm

    I’ve developed my “style” as always wearing black pants. I don’t really like jeans and darn my weight for fluctuating a bit and being too scared to try on my other pants. So I wear black pants. Everyday. I guess this isn’t style, but… yeah idk.

    One thing I’m totally proud of and I feel is my “style”– having a ‘signature’ perfume I wear everyday and wearing my diamond earrings. Those are my staples. I want people to smell my perfume when I’m not around and think- “oh that’s so Amy”. 🙂

  5. April 26, 2010 6:35 pm

    Girl, brightly colored tennies and flip flops ARE a style. I can’t do tennies at ALL without feeling absolutely ridiculous – I seriously envy girls who makes jeans and tennis shoes look good, as I’m sure you do.

  6. April 27, 2010 4:54 pm

    Kyla mentioned to me that I go through something called the “style book.” maybe we should do that together =) I could use some more style, especially in my stupid, boring, professional work clothes. ick.

  7. April 28, 2010 1:16 am

    My style is my own, the only difference is I don’t try to put any kind of labels on it. I’ve found that labels are quite constrictive. Just be you… and your “style” will come.

  8. April 28, 2010 10:42 am

    I couldn’t have said this better myself! I feel exactly how it’s described in that article! I’m tired of putting on whatever lame thing I can find in my closet every morning, and wishing I had the creative ability to participate in the DIY stuff I find on the Internet. I don’t understand how any of these ladies have TIME to do all they do, and it’s frustrating to me. Hopefully we can both find a style that works for us and makes us feel like we really do belong among the awesomeness!

  9. April 30, 2010 7:37 am

    I hear ya. I sometimes think that about myself. And then I think that my “style” is just random me. The article you linked to is so true though! Sometimes I get lost on these crafty blogs and I’m so envious! Where do they find the time? I want to do it! There just isn’t an ounce of time in the day to.

  10. April 30, 2010 5:58 pm

    I have no style at ALL. I’ve always enjoyed being able to chose an outfit based on who I wanted to be that day – a bit hipster? Pearls and elegance? Bohemian? Totally yuppie? I WANT TO BE EVERYTHING.

    It’s fun, but I definitely would love to have a ME thing, you know? Aside from my yoga pants. Even though I LOVE MY YOGA PANTS. Amen.

Leave a Reply

