Skip to content

Birthday questions! part one

April 30, 2010

So I bet you thought I forgot about those pesky questions I let you ask me on my birthday, didn’t you?  Well, I did forget. But better late than never, right, kiddos? Let’s get on with it, shall we?

Lisa asked, “What is something about which you’ve had the chance to change your mind in the last year?”

Money. How much money is enough. How much money we truly need to get by comfortably. How much money we truly need to scrape by. How much money is too muchmoney. It was a surprising revelation when we discovered we’re actually doing well financially… if we could just pay off these credit cards.

Samdotcom asked, “How many little kidlets would you and Joe eventually like to have?! Boys, girls? Sooner, later? Tell all. ☺”

To be entirely honest, I’m not sure if I even want kidlets. They’re not exactly on my radar at the moment. It’s possible that my biological clock will tick eventually, but there’s so much I want to do before starting a family. So I’m thinking in about five years, we’ll start talking about that choice. One kid would be enough, but I wouldn’t say no to two I guess. No more than two. It’s a vagina, not a clown car.

Julia asked, “What would your perfect birthday DAY look like, if you could spend it doing anything, anywhere, any time (any time period), with anyone (dead or alive)?”

I would stick in the current era, because what better time than now? I would be transported to someplace foreign and tropical… maybe southeast Asia. I would be lavished with incredible seafood and fancy cocktails that aren’t too strong or too sweet. I mean, I would eat and drink A LOT without ever feeling full or too tipsy. Josh Groban and the cast of Glee would be on the beach, serenading me from a short distance. Meanwhile, countless spa attendents would focus on my well-being and offer pedicures, manicures, facials, deep tissue massages, mud wraps, and chocolate baths. That’s right. A bath of chocolate. In the afternoon, the cast of The West Wing will reinact my favorite scenes. And right before bed, that guy from the Allstate commercials would read me bedtime stories with that fantastic deep voice of his.

Stay tuned for more of my answers to your questions soon….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 11:06 am

    “It’s a vagina, not a clown car.” Hahah, yessssss. And your ideal birthday? It is just so perfect, and so, so Renee.

  2. April 30, 2010 11:52 am

    You two would have cute kidlets.

    Just sayin’ in case the opinion of an internet stranger is suddenly going to make your ovaries change their minds.

  3. April 30, 2010 1:49 pm

    “It’s a vagina, not a clown car.” Can I steal this? Because it’s fantastic!

  4. April 30, 2010 6:01 pm

    So, I remember seeing that post and being all, “I’m so going to come back and ask a REALLY GOOD QUESTION.”

    Then I forgot.

    Oops.

    You won’t judge if my vagina is a clown car, right? My environmental science teacher told me I could have four kids if I raised them vegetarian. 😉 Heh. Though, it’s going to be just one for a loooooong time. Or, you know, 5 years- when Mike is done with his PhD.

  5. May 2, 2010 6:56 pm

    I know we’ve talked about this already, but “when I was your age” kids weren’t on my radar at all either. Just enjoy being married for now! You’ll figure out if/when/how kids will fit into your life in good time.

Leave a Reply

