Skip to content

Crossroads of the Blogosphere

May 25, 2010

Indianapolis is known as the Crossroads of America. And for bloggers coming from Illinois, Missouri, Tennessee, and Ohio, it’s a good thing it’s only a 4 hour drive for each of us.

A couple months ago I was weighing the price of a plane ticket to Vegas against my bank account balance and credit card debt and… well, the universe was not lining up for me. I didn’t feel as though Bloggers in Sin City would be affordable this year. Last year I happened to be working a 9-5 with good benefits… this year I’ve been in limbo between two service industry jobs. Though it was costly to lose a weekend of work and tips, the fact that our five-star hotel only cost us $60/night made me feel better.

We stayed at the gorgeous Westin in the heart of lovely downtown Indy. I know I’m not the only one to think this but Indy is so so live-able, so drive-able, so affordable, and so clean. I’ve been to Indy a few times, but this was my first weekend truly exploring it.

Erin and I drove through Chicago rush hour traffic, torrential downpours, and cities with not one McDonalds (the pregnant woman needed a cheeseburger!!) and arrived before 9pm… only 45 minutes later than expected. Luckily, no one had been kept waiting too long. We all hugged big blogger bear hugs (if you’ve never had a blogger hug, it’s this feeling of “I know you, I understand where you are, and I’m so glad to finally see you”), dropped our bags off in the room, and headed to Mug-n-Bun where we ate our weight in grease.

After being up half the night fighting the grease in my stomach (please don’t vomit please don’t vomit do you think they would think it was one of the pregnant ladies please don’t vomit please don’t vomit), we all woke up early, grabbed coffee in our pjs at the Starbucks downstairs (how very Luxor of us), and headed to the largest children’s museum in the world. At the Children’s Museum, we explored the Dinosphere, took a flight to modern Egypt, and Barbie told us we were all fantastic.

Our poor bodies were still bloated and grody from our Mug-n-Bun excursion and we were all craving lettuce. Bless you, Yelp app, for finding When Eddie Met Salad and satisfying our healthy craving. Chopped salad with avocado ranch dressing and a fresh-brewed iced tea? Yes, please.

With our bodies feeling better, it was time to enjoy mimosas at the spa while Hiawatha, the first black male nail tech in Indiana, worked his nail art magic on our toes at Spa in the City. My fingers are a shade of Barbie pink, inspired by the Children’s Museum exhibit, and my toes are melon orange with fancy blue, red, and gold stripes on the big toe… making it look like the sky after a storm. Thanks, Hiawatha.

After a couple pictures at the circle’s monument, we headed back to the Westin to put on dresses. We had reservations at BARcelona Tapas, and oh boy, I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. The sangria needed ice, the restaurant was on the loud side, but the food! The food was amazing. And we only spent $10 each, thanks to the style of the restaurant… just order when you’re hungry. We spent the evening with lots of cheesy goodness, blogger gossip, and big ol’ belly laughs.

We stayed up way too late again, with both EP and I rolling ourselves up in blankets to warm up and giggling like we were 6 years old. We cracked open a pan of “crack brownies” and the jar of Nutella and girl-talked ourselves to sleep, complete with lights-out-chuckles. In the morning, we packed up and walked over to Cafe Patachou (which, said correctly, is recognized by the iPhone’s Google voice-activation) for brunch. And, oh what a brunch it was! Our poor waitress was undoubtedly tired of us taking up her big table, but it was killing us knowing we’d have to say goodbye that morning. So we gorged ourselves on the best toast I’ve ever tasted, local eggs and omelettes, fresh fruit cups, and lots of self-service coffee (YUM).

And then we parted ways, back towards Illinois, Missouri, Tennessee, and Ohio, back the way we came, across the Crossroads of America.

The thing about incredible blogger friends (including the one we hadn’t yet met) is that no matter how long it’s been since you’ve last seen one another or spoken to one another, they just know. Bloggers make it their hobby to keep up on one another’s lives so they always know where you are in life. I find I am most expressive through written word, so maybe, through these little windows of my life I put on my blog, maybe these girls know me better than “real-life” friends. I struggle to use the phrase “real-life” friends because… these girls ARE my real life friends. I may have met them through 20sb and the blogosphere, but they’ve become some of my nearest and dearest. Because they get it. They’ve been there. And they make an effort to keep up. I can’t tell you how grateful I am for the friends who make that effort, who check in, who are the first to congratulate or comfort me.

So I spent a weekend with them. One soulful, rejuvenating weekend. And I can’t wait to plan the next one.((Blondes not allowed.))

Photos shamelessly stolen from Ashley and Erin

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie Olsen permalink
    May 25, 2010 10:18 am

    STILL big fat huge tears that I could not go. Stupid life. Stupid flood. Stupid two jobs.

    ONE DAY! I WILL! SEE YOUR FACE! AGAIN!!

  2. May 25, 2010 10:20 am

    Super wish I could have made it. Sounds like it was a blast!

  3. May 25, 2010 10:33 am

    What an adorable weekend. It sounds like the perfect slumber party style weekend for grown ups. Glad you all had such an amazing time 🙂

  4. May 25, 2010 10:36 am

    The last paragraph gave me goosebumps and chills and tears in my eyes… all in a very good way. Two days later, my heart and soul are still smiling. Perfect weekend.

    Also, you rock.
    And I heard “Soul Sister,” on the radio about six times on my drive home.

  5. May 25, 2010 12:22 pm

    Believe it or not, I spent a lot of Vegas time wondering how much fun you ladies were having & wishing I were there. I’m so glad you all got together! It sounds like you have a wonderful time. :]

  6. May 25, 2010 1:14 pm

    I love this!

  7. May 25, 2010 1:56 pm

    Love love love.

    It’s hard to really encompass the whole weekend in words, you know?

    I’m back at my desk today, doing what I do every day of work…it’s a little surreal that this weekend even happened. I feel like it was a dream – a little blip of wonderfulness. 🙂

  8. May 25, 2010 11:18 pm

    Sounds like you ladies had a blast! Totally jealous! One of these days I’ll get in on these blogger get togethers :).

  9. May 26, 2010 7:50 am

    Yay for an excellent weekend!

  10. May 26, 2010 5:36 pm

    Definitely missed you in Vegas, but this sounds absolutely wonderful. Big hugs!

  11. May 26, 2010 5:37 pm

    LOVE this! I love these friendships, love you ladies and it makes me so happy in the heart to see these growing over the years. So glad y’all had fun and can’t wait to be back in the Midwest near you to see you again! 🙂

  12. May 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    Beautiful recap of what seems like a beautiful weekend. Bah, why am I on the west coast?!

  13. May 26, 2010 6:46 pm

    I am so gushy and happy that you all got together. Your weekend wonderful and amazing and you all look so darn adorable! Hugs and Kisses from this side of the blogosphere. Can’t wait until our paths cross again. Miss you and your spunky little self!

  14. May 26, 2010 7:48 pm

    Love, love, love. I just feel so much love.

    Once I survive the last week of work, we’ll have to get together for coffee or ice cream…or both.

  15. May 29, 2010 10:21 am

    This post made me all teary-eyed and made me miss Indy. Seriously. That last paragraph sums it up PERFECTLY, and I am so thankful we were able to make it last weekend. And we better do this again sometime soon… I miss y’all!

  16. June 1, 2010 1:18 am

    Seems like that was such a rewarding experience. I had a great time at BiSC, but the experience was a little overwhelming for a shy girl like me. I feel I would have done much better in this kind of atmosphere instead.

Leave a Reply

