Skip to content

America’s Last Top Model

May 27, 2010

Once upon a time, I was about 9 years old and helping my mom out in her preschool class. One of her student’s moms asked me if I had ever modeled. “No.” “Would you like to?” Duh.

For the next three or four years, I would take days off school to model for a variety of things… dental work, boats, RVs, Meijer.

Yup, that’s right. Most of my work came in the form of Meijer advertisements. One of my first was for summer equipment. (I can’t believe I’m posting this stuff, you guys.)
(At least I’m not the one in the swim cap?)

That’s not the best part. One particular photo made the Meijer circular every Fourth of July for years after I stopped modeling. It was me with my “family” wearing life jackets. (Orange life vests go on sale every Fourth of July, take note.)  While in Indy last weekend, I got an email from my mom telling me I’ve managed to grace the Meijer ad once again, for old time’s sake… more than a decade later. (No, I don’t get royalties, don’t be ridiculous.) The best part? Apparently, on the drive home from Indy, Ashley stopped in a Meijer and happened across a circular. Cue giggles.

Check out the mall bangs, folks. That’s how we do it in the 90s.

(This post is dedicated to Erin who has been requesting a blog about my modeling days for nearly a year. This post can be filed under “I can’t believe I’m sharing this on the internet.” Also, Mom, please feel free to correct my poor memory with dates and such. Lastly, if you would like me to model for your product, know that I was once paid $50/hr. Hire me. I’m a trained professional.)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 10:23 am

    You. Are. Amazing.

  2. May 27, 2010 10:27 am

    That is hilarious! I rather be on Meijer than Beauty & the Geek any day

  3. May 27, 2010 10:55 am

    WoW!!!! Meijer!!! oh how i miss that place!! i remember the fourth of july adds…

  4. May 27, 2010 11:09 am

    For some reason, this doesn’t surprise me, but how terribly awesome! Ha.

  5. May 27, 2010 12:09 pm

    ADORABLE.

  6. May 27, 2010 12:18 pm

    Haha, oh this is fantastic.

  7. May 27, 2010 12:42 pm

    Dude. You’re even more awesome than I thought.

  8. May 27, 2010 5:47 pm

    um this is amazing. seriously amazing.

  9. May 27, 2010 9:00 pm

    Awesome. Just awesome.

  10. May 28, 2010 12:59 am

    That is so fookin awesome!!!! You look adorable! You should have no reason not to post this lol totally have a right to brag.

  11. Mom permalink
    May 28, 2010 5:34 pm

    Those were fun times! You have always been so dang cute! Must be my awesome genes.

  12. May 29, 2010 10:17 am

    You win. Also? I’m so glad we spoke about this Friday and found out the ad was still in circulation SATURDAY. Love it!

    Also? You were a totally ADORABLE kid. (As if you didn’t know that already…)

  13. May 29, 2010 12:27 pm

    This is the best! How fun is it that she found that?

  14. May 29, 2010 9:18 pm

    Lol…I probably saw those Meijer ads growing up and wish I were you. 🙂 I live 5 minutes from a Meijer; I need to start investigating those ads. 🙂

  15. May 30, 2010 8:45 am

    I had mall bangs. And frizzy, teased-out bangs in the 90’s. Luckily, the only evidence of those are in family photos 😉

  16. May 31, 2010 7:10 pm

    YES. YES. YES. I can die happy now.

  17. May 31, 2010 7:56 pm

    wow, you look so happy with your family – and so well clothed for your boat trip. That’s too funny, I can’t believe that picture still looks normal enough to get in to todays circular

  18. June 1, 2010 1:14 am

    That is super cute! I MUST meet you! 🙂

  19. June 1, 2010 1:20 pm

    That’s awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  20. June 5, 2010 8:24 am

    Brave. I never would have modeled for anything as a kid especially not in my bathing suit but those days off school don’t sound too bad

  21. June 15, 2010 5:05 pm

    This is quite possibly the BEST EVER! You were so ready for some water adventures in that first picture! 🙂

  22. July 23, 2011 2:43 pm

    That’s just excellent. I did one ad as a baby that I have no recollection of being in, but it’s a cherished item in my baby book. I love that you’re still included in the circular.

Leave a Reply

