Skip to content

The GOP

June 7, 2010

This morning I was sipping on my iced coffee and watching Swagger Wagon videos (because, really, that couple is Joe & me in the future, don’t fight it honey) and something popped up in my Twitter stream… it doesn’t matter what the tweet said, just that it mentioned the term G.O.P., as in, the Republican party.

Now, maybe it’s because I don’t identify as Republican, but it occurred to me that I have no idea what the hell G.O.P. stands for. (Okay, I’ll make a dollar bet that the majority of tea partiers don’t know, either.) So, God bless Wikipedia with providing me with this definition:

The term “Grand Old Party” is a traditional nickname for the Republican Party, and the initialism “G.O.P.” (or “GOP”) is a commonly used designation. According to the Republican Party, the term “gallant old party” was used in 1875.[11] According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the first known reference to the Republican Party as the “grand old party” came in 1876. The first use of the abbreviation GOP is dated 1884.

So “Republican” is synonymous with “Grand Old Party,” huh? I’m going to start using it that way.
“Did you guys watch the Blackhawks game last night? Oh man, wasn’t it a Republican??”
“I can’t wait for so-and-so’s wedding. It’s going to be such a Republican!”
“Yeah, we like football season because it gives us an excuse to throw a Republican.”

This has got to catch on. Don’t let me go all Gretchen Weiners on you guys. That’s so fetch.
#MeanGirlsreferencesforlife

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:57 am

    It is seriously cracking me up that you didn’t know what GOP stood for. Apparently, I’m easily amused.

  2. June 7, 2010 10:19 am

    stop trying to make Republican happen, Renee.

  3. June 7, 2010 11:05 am

    I wish I didn’t know what GOP stood for, but it was pounded into my brain during the government class I had to take in high school… if we didn’t pass the statewide goverment exam, we didn’t get to graduate!

    Loving the Mean Girls references.

    And Swagger Wagon!? I don’t know what that is…

  4. June 7, 2010 11:27 am

    I never knew what GOP meant. Ever. Matter of fact, I’m always asking Jonathan what it means, thinking he’ll get tired of me asking & just Google it or something. Thank god for Blogging Friends! You learn something every day. :]

    Oh, & it was also my first time watching Swagger Wagon. Hilarious.

  5. June 7, 2010 11:38 am

    This made me laugh!

    I totally hope this catches on…or maybe I’ll just start using it anyways! 😉

  6. June 7, 2010 12:05 pm

    Swagger Wagon! I’ve seen the first video you linked to, but I didn’t realize that there’s so many more! I love the couple. They make having a minivan & children seem like such a Republican!

  7. June 7, 2010 6:52 pm

    No way! I never knew what that stood for! Nuts!

  8. June 9, 2010 4:44 pm

    Who knew?!?! The things we learn. I think you should totally make this a trend. It’d be such a Republican.

  9. June 12, 2010 3:58 pm

    Haha, I love this! (And I didn’t know what GOP meant until a few years ago and had to hang out with a lot of GOP candidates… so I looked it up beforehand.)

Leave a Reply

