Skip to content

The Summer of Awesome

June 25, 2010

Once I quit my stressful job at the coffeeshop, I decided to focus on myself for the summer. This has included a number of things, but I got the ball rolling with Stratejoy’s Joy Equation. (There is now an accountability page on my blog where you can keep track of the progress I make towards my goals!) This was less of a tune-up and more of a wake up call. I realized when I started the Joy Equation back in February, I was completely off track. I had a dead-end job, I was working a second more fun job, I was struggling to see my future, I was debating grad school… and by March? Things seemed in line or at least a little more clear.

Then I fell off the bandwagon. And that story is here.

The pendulum has swung back in my favor and I’m loving all of it. I work 4 or 5 shifts a week at the Italian restaurant and the truth is, I love it there. I love my job. I’m not afraid of my bosses. They treat me kindly and professionally. The work environment is healthy and we show one another respect. It’s incredible how those little things add up to be so comforting when you’ve worked a job so gut-wrenching for the past year. I can honestly see myself waiting tables at this restaurant at least until I finish graduate school. That’s a huge feeling for me.

I’m taking time to myself. I’m reading on the back patio with my feet up, in the sun, sipping iced coffees. (Dunkin Donuts, seriously, sponsor my habit. Free advertising in the side bar.) I’m getting tan lines and a red nose.  I’m spending time on Lady Jane, my bicycle. I’m roadtripping to weddings with my husband. We’re visiting festivals, eating fried cheese curds and roasted corn on the cob. We’re enjoying beer tents and summer brews. I’m having dinner with my girlfriends and hot yoga for breakfast. I’m feeling better about my body, mind, and soul. And that’s priceless.

I’m back on track. And everything seems to be falling into place.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 10:50 am

    It sounds like you are having some much deserved inner peace this summer, good for you! Enjoy every minute!

  2. June 25, 2010 12:44 pm

    What a great feeling 🙂

  3. June 25, 2010 1:48 pm

    You sound like you have a great summer ahead. I’ve heard about this Joy Equation before but don’t know much about it. I’ll have to take a looksee.

  4. June 25, 2010 7:13 pm

    I am so glad that you found a job where you feel respected. It’s amazing what that does for your life.

  5. Mom permalink
    June 26, 2010 6:29 am

    …and this makes Mommy happy!

  6. June 26, 2010 1:24 pm

    I am SO excited for you, lovely. This summer has already been so wonderful, and it sounds like y’all have SO much more wonderful stuff ahead of you for the next few months.

  7. June 27, 2010 5:43 pm

    so excited that things are going well for you 🙂 feeling respected in a job makes a HUGE difference 🙂

    Huzzah for goal setting and accomplishing goals!! (or working towards them) ❤

  8. June 28, 2010 11:44 am

    Love that you named your bike Lady Jane.

    And that you roadtripped to StL for a wedding that meant I could see you. You make me happy 🙂

  9. June 29, 2010 3:50 am

    Congrats on getting back on track! It’s a lot easier to fall off then get back on so kudos!

Leave a Reply

