Skip to content

Anniversary Road Trip Hiatus

July 30, 2010

“Can you believe we’ve almost been married a year?” I asked Joe as we did a trial run of our tent setup in our backyard. “It doesn’t seem that like ago.”

On Sunday, we embark on a camping roadtrip to celebrate our first anniversary, August 8. It seems like just yesterday I wrote this post. How quickly a year goes by.

Our first roadtrip stop will be Mackinac Island. I’ve always wanted to go there, to ride bikes around the island, eat fudge, visit knick-knack shops… it just seems like the perfect little Midwestern getaway. I’m very excited for this stop!

We’ll head west through the upper penninsula of Michigan, which will be brand new territory for me. We plan to stay at Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, and from the photos, it looks breathtaking. We’ll spend an evening there and head to the Ottawa National Forest which, contrary to its name, is still in Michigan.

On Friday, we’ll head to Minneapolis where my in-laws live. Because we wanted to be married outdoors, we could not have a Catholic ceremony. So on Saturday, our marriage will be blessed by Joe’s childhood priest in a small ceremony, making it a Catholic sacrament. (We’ve technically been living in sin up til this point. Don’t tell the Pope.) Afterwards, my in-laws are throwing us a little anniversary open house and inviting all the Minnesotan family that couldn’t make it to the Indiana wedding last summer. My mom is flying up for the shindig, too.

On Sunday, our actual actual anniversary, we’ll be stopping in Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin to tour the Leinenkugel’s brewery. Um, I may be most excited about this. Summer Shandy is my all-time favorite beer.

Have I mentioned that this entire trip (save for the two nights in Minneapolis) will consist of camping? Have I mentioned that I’ve never truly had a camping experience? Have I mentioned some of our campsites may or may not have flushing toilets or showers?

Thank God my husband is an Eagle Scout.

Surprisingly, I’ve adored every moment of preparation so far. I’ve loved picking out a sleeping bag, hiking shoes, coffee press, rain coat, rain boots, tent, camp chairs, backpack, etc… L.L. Bean and Target have been my bffs for the last month as I’ve blown obscene amounts of dollars at these places. I’ve had a blast planning our meals for the week. (Pizzas in a sandwich press? I’ll try it!) I’m looking forward to breaking out all the podcasts we’ve been downloading for our millions of hours in the car.Β  I’m excited to power down for the week… turn off Twitter, turn off Facebook, turn off email, and completely turn off my phone.

I’m most excited to spend a week in the woods with my husband, forgetting our real lives and focusing on what matters: Our marriage. The earth. And our place in it.

{photo via Erin Parker Photography}

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 8:32 am

    Oh, lovely! I’m hoping that for our second anniversary (which is the day after yours, but we’re making a habit of going away in September for) we’ll go camping. I have a sneaking suspicion my husband may have had the same idea…have fun, camping can be lovely and romantic!

  2. July 30, 2010 8:57 am

    Aw, happy anniversary! I’m so jealous… we’ve yet to celebrate an anniversary and we’re almost to number three! I hope you have an amazing time together and I can’t wait to hear all about it πŸ™‚

  3. Mom permalink
    July 30, 2010 9:14 am

    I love this! Have fun camping! (You’re more adventurous than me!) I’ll see you soon in Minneapolis to celebrate!

  4. July 30, 2010 9:29 am

    Happy Anniversary! Enjoy your trip!!

    I hope you’re also making pudgy pies in those sandwich presses (similar to the pizzas but with pie filling…hopefully your eagle scout knows about these ;))

  5. July 30, 2010 10:21 am

    happy anniversary! that sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate!

  6. July 30, 2010 11:05 am

    So exciting! I hope you have an amazing trip….and Happy Anniversary!

  7. July 30, 2010 11:52 am

    Happy 1st anniversary! What an exciting trip you’ll always remember! My fiance and I were engaged on a camping trip and we go every year to the High Sierras in CA. Camping is so much fun! Can’t wait to hear about the trip!

  8. July 30, 2010 12:23 pm

    Happy Anniversary dude!

    Doesn’t Summer Shandy just make life worth living!?

  9. July 30, 2010 12:39 pm

    I can’t believe it’s been a year already!! Sounds like you guys have a great trip planned!!

  10. July 30, 2010 3:06 pm

    Happy anniversary! Your road trip sounds WONDERFUL. I’ve always wanted to go to Mackinac Island, and Pictured Rocks looks incredible! It looks almost Mediterranean. How beautiful.

    Hope you have a fantastic, safe trip!

  11. July 30, 2010 3:41 pm

    Your trip sounds like it’s going to be so much fun! I love camping, but I think I might be scared to do it without a bathhouse down the hill. Can’t wait to hear what the experience is like πŸ™‚

    Have fun and happy 1st anniversary!

  12. July 30, 2010 4:30 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Sounds like you have a wonderful trip planned – have a fabulous time!!!

  13. July 30, 2010 10:53 pm

    Have such a fabulous time! You guys deserve it. Happy (early) one year anniversary. Heart you guys!

  14. August 2, 2010 1:20 pm

    Happy almost-anniversary! I feel the same way (since I got married the same day as you did) — How can it have been a year already?! Sounds like your anniversary road trip is going to be awesome, although I’m not exactly envious of the camping aspect. πŸ˜›

  15. August 3, 2010 11:44 am

    Have so much fun Renee – what a wonderful way to celebrate your anniversary πŸ™‚

  16. August 3, 2010 10:09 pm

    Hope you’re having a wonderful time!

  17. August 4, 2010 7:40 pm

    it’s already been a year?! how crazy! but so exciting. have a fabulous trip and happy anniversary!

  18. August 6, 2010 11:12 pm

    My goodness, lady! I cannot believe it has been A YEAR already! Have a fantastic time this weekend, and happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

