Skip to content

Housekeeping

September 29, 2010

Hi friends,

I’ve been pretty quiet ’round these parts lately, but the truth is grad school is kicking my butt. My dad emailed me this afternoon asking when a good time to call is because “I don’t know when you work/teach/study.” In all seriousness, if I’m not sleeping, I’m working/teaching/studying. So understandably, my dad knows no good time to call me. Because there isnt a good time to call me.

Thus, if chit-chatting with my pops is tough to fit in, you can imagine why blogging has taken a back seat as well.

Sure, it has a bit to do with time management. You might be thinking, “If you’d just manage your time a little more wisely…” But hear me out. I wake up at 5:30. I’m on the road by 7am. Twice a week, I’m at school til 9pm. The other three days are my housekeeping days: grocery shop, errands, cook, clean, laundry. Keep in mind I’m still taking two shifts a week at the restaurant. I used to take 3-4 hour naps in undergrad after staying up til 2am or later to finish homework. These days I’m in bed by 10pm and my naps, if any time at all, are limited to an hour. And let’s not even talk about Glee. I’m so not up to speed.

Part of it is the blogging community. Some days I feel like I’m forcing something that’s no longer there. I’m watching the community slip through my fingers. Rather, I’m watching my involvement in the community dissolve and feeling as though it’s crumbling around me.

And also? My beloved MacBook Pro has started acting up. The touchpad clicking only works about 30% of the time (imagine trying to HIGHLIGHT a line of text when your clicker is finicky!!!) and my built-in iSight doesn’t work, though it is recognized in system profiler. I know I should probs just take it to the Apple store but hi, I don’t have Apple Care and also I’m poor. (And yes, I’ve reset the SMC, zapped the PRAM, repaired disk permissions, checked for updates, etc. I’m not a ding-dong.)

So there’s that. I’m doing my best to feel involved in your lives. I do still read blogs though I may not be commenting and connecting. Ye ol’ Twitter keeps me in the know, too. A fabulous chunk of my support system is my blog friends and I’m so grateful for you guys. But I’m not going to feel guilty for my lack of presence these days… I’m just feeling way too productive and fulfilled to let it get me down.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 7:00 pm

    I promise things get easier to deal with in grad school. I think I cried constantly my first quarter.

    We’ll all be here when you’re ready. 🙂

  2. September 29, 2010 7:16 pm

    When Jake was at NIU, there was literally a period of 2 weeks straight where I did not hear from him, via any form of communication. If I remember correctly, I actually called his mother to make sure he was still alive. (Heads up: I believe that 2 week period hit in November.)

    Good luck, babe. Cheering you on from Florida.

  3. September 30, 2010 8:43 am

    Hi Renee,

    Miss you. Love you. Take care of you! We’ll all be here when you have time.

    Erin

  4. September 30, 2010 10:29 am

    Hey now, don’t ever feel guilty for LIVING YOUR LIFE! You need to know when life is okay to take over. So take care of yourself! We and the internet will still be here!

  5. September 30, 2010 12:43 pm

    I don’t know what an SMC or a PRAM is and I only have the one job and I can’t keep on top of blogging either. So… I’m just very very impressed with you right now. Take care of yourself!

  6. prettylittlereckless permalink
    September 30, 2010 5:29 pm

    I totally hear ya on the blog community thing. Honestly, I stopped reading a lot of people because it was the same BS it’s been for the past however many years we’ve all been doing this. Now I read a lot less people and write more for myself and I’m a whole bunch happier. 🙂

  7. October 4, 2010 11:13 am

    Goodluck with Gradschool! you’re a busy girl! you work and teach too? wow! 😀 Take Care.

    -Mia
    http://miafied.blogspot.com

  8. October 6, 2010 4:53 am

    The people you have met from the blogging community who will stick around are usually those who you like the most anyway – so I wouldn’t worry about that. Also, having a life is much more important than blogging about not having a life! x

  9. October 7, 2010 12:10 pm

    Well the good news for me is that we aren’t just blog friends =) We are real life friends! We are all here for you if/when you have time to blog (I get excited seeing your name in my reader) BUT i totally understand how busy you are and what you’re focusing on (and I daresay it’s more important than blogging). 🙂

  10. December 1, 2010 2:19 am

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

