Skip to content

Photographic Memory

October 5, 2010

Sometimes when I’m alone, I make voice memos of blog ideas. I thought this was a pretty cool idea until I updated iTunes on computer…  Now I see that I can listen to these voice memos of me talking to myself on my computer. Suddenly, I understand how my cat feels when I ramble.

This is a post inspired by one of those voice memos that I recorded in July. I actually transcribed my voice memo only to realize it’s realllllly really scattered and I don’t quite speak in full sentences and I don’t quite finish any of my thoughts and all of my sentences run together (much like this one). So I’ve cleaned it up a bit to make it a little more understandable for you all.

Scene: I-80W, somewhere in Portage County, Indiana

I just saw an SUV that I know. I’ve been wanting to blog about my supposed photographic memory and this is the perfect example. (This is how an only child entertains herself.) Maybe it’s not a photographic memory, maybe I’m just observant, who knows, but here goes.

Just now, driving back from Indiana, I saw a vehicle that, I swear to God, I would swear my life on this, I used to park next to it in the parking garage when I worked in Joliet last summer. The reason I recognize it is because it has Notre Dame Illinois plates and that’s the first time I’d ever seen a Notre Dame Illinois plate. Also, it had a really simple license plate number. It wasn’t a vanity plate but it was just really simple, just two letters, two numbers. And it was a gold SUV and, I dont know, I just think it’s bizarre that here I am in Portage county, Indiana and I’m passing someone who used to work in the same building in Joliet over a year ago. And I remember his vehicle.

My mom has always been convinced that I do have a photographic memory. How she came to understand this, I don’t know… maybe it was instances such as this one. But I’m inclined to agree. When I take exams, I see words or phrases in my mind’s eye. Same with names and faces. When I hear new words, I project the spelling of that word (usually white text on black) in my mind. I swear I listened to a podcast about this (Stuff You Should Know, perhaps?) and now I can’t remember the science behind photographic memories. They exist on a spectrum and I know I fall somewhere in the middle.

Anyways, so there it is. That’s why I’ll remember your face and your name but not necessarily together. Or I might remember your full name and its correct spelling but not your face. Or I’ll remember your face and your childhood hometown but not your name. (And that’s why I’m really great at useless trivia, too.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs. Soup permalink
    October 5, 2010 4:12 pm

    Okay, yes. That is the exact same thing I have! If I write something down, I can remember it cuz it’s visualized now. It’s so so so crazy……but I really like it!

  2. October 5, 2010 5:27 pm

    That is so true. I have a photographic memory, and my family is so shocked that I “know stuff.” I’m even called on the regular because of useless trivia. We’re the lucky ones.

  3. October 7, 2010 12:44 am

    my brother is the same way…once he sees somethings, he’ll remember where and when he saw it in the first place.

  4. October 7, 2010 12:08 pm

    That’s pretty fun!
    I don’t have a photographic memory but I do remember phone numbers, addresses, license plate numbers and all that other stuff really easily. Most of the time it seems like wasted brain space. Other times it seems totally useful!

  5. Mom permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:15 am

    Hey do you remember… Oh yeah, you do. Never mind…

  6. December 17, 2010 11:00 am

    Relaxation: Stress does not get you anywhere, hence being stressed does not help your memory either. The first step is to completely relax. When you are able to relax, then you are able to concentrate better.

Leave a Reply

