Skip to content

Oh noes! Where is the innocence?!

October 7, 2010

So have any of you heard of Duke student Karen Owen’s so-called “Fuck List”? Let me fill you in…

This student had (consensual) sex with a number of Duke University athletes. (Oh, Duke, you and your athletes’ sex scandals.) She created a PowerPoint presentation for her friends. Here’s the first slide.

Hilarious, right? “Degree in Tempestuous Frolicking”? I mean, who else wants to have margaritas with her right about now?

For those of us who have done the college thing, who have heard your roommates doing the dirty through the wall, who have witnessed their share of walks of shame… this is basically Sunday morning brunch conversation. It’s 2010. Women have sex. Whoopee.

But the PowerPoint file left her little circle of friends and went viral.

Let’s talk about where I first heard about this story and (hilarious) PowerPoint presentation… it was on the TODAY show this morning. At first I was all, “Well, that’s interesting.” And Meredith Veira was all, “Oh noes!! How could something like this happen?!! Let’s interview an expert!” And I’m all, “Maybe you should interview a sexpert,” (then I look around to see if anyone was around to high-five me for being punny). And the expert was all, “There seems to be a lack of modesty or discretion even among our girls.” And then I was like, “OH HELL NO. SHE DID NOT JUST SLUT SHAME.”

That’s what this is. It’s a slut shaming witch hunt. So what that her “thesis” went viral? Let’s take it for what it is: a hilarious, well-written presentation about female sexuality. Okay, so her name is on it and now her parents know all about her sexcapades and okay, so her sexual partners’ names are on it and I recognize that that’s not exactly fair. But let’s remember, it’s OKAY for women to be sexual.

Karen’s argument is “Well, frat boys do it all the time and no one minds.”  Exactly.

An article on Jezebel says about Karen’s writing, “Overall, very little regret and lots of good humor.” So, she’s not ashamed of the acts. Maybe she’s a little regretful that it got out of her circle of friends. But a girl needs to own her sexuality and the media needs to stop policing women’s bodies. For fuck’s sake, I’m sick of the slut shaming.

At least she might get something out of it. HarperCollins has approached her saying she’s the female version of Tucker Max. Nice.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 4:47 pm

    You know, I work at Duke and this is the first I’m hearing about this. I find this to be hysterical and wish she was still on campus so I could buy her a drink 🙂

  2. October 7, 2010 4:59 pm

    I’ve heard about this story a bunch of times over the last few days and this is actually the first time I heard about it in the context of slut shaming. Most of what I’ve read is about how it sort of sucks for the guys since their pictures and whatnot are all over it. In any case, I agree that she has every right to do what she wants with her body, but it is a bit unfortunate that in the creation of this albeit hilarious and awesome powerpoint deck, that she didn’t disguise the identities of her partners (which at least Tucker Max does). Though I’m sort of not surprised (but disappointed, clearly) that the Today Show took the stance that they did.

    • October 7, 2010 5:02 pm

      I’m on board with what you’re saying, Arielle. It’s unfortunate that the dudes’ names were on there, but that’s the only mistake I think she makes. Unlike the mass news media who all seem to be in hysterics over a girl with sexual prowess.

  3. October 9, 2010 3:08 pm

    You’re spot on–that the media picked *that* element to focus on is definitely irksome. How awful is it that I had to google Tucker Max? I’m pretty sure I’m far out of the pop culture loop.

  4. October 9, 2010 11:14 pm

    So i think i kind of love her.

    slut-shaming is outdated, just like traditional “female/male” roles are.

    more power to her. the today show can just suck it. 😀

  5. October 12, 2010 3:46 pm

    Amen sister! I’ve never understood the double standard when men are allowed to be sexual but women aren’t. WHO CARES! You go girl. 🙂

  6. October 12, 2010 9:47 pm

    Holy shit, this post was fantastic. I agree with you wholeheartedly.

  7. Gia permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:44 am

    Ooph… the judgment passed on totally irked me too. You’re so right, women need to own their sexuality and be comfortable with expressing it or enjoying it however many times they damn well please.

    Let’s please get on with the progress world.

  8. October 20, 2010 6:09 pm

    Big freaking deal, when I first heard of this I thought “Tucker Max, female version”. I agree with you that the only thing unforunate about it is that she named names. Well, if she knew the whole world would read this instead of just a few friends, I’m sure she would have left the names off. Go her!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Oh noes! Where is the innocence?! « Belle Renee -- Topsy.com
  2. The Force of Womanhood « Belle Renee
  3. Third Time’s a Charm! « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

