Skip to content

Midterm Migraine

October 11, 2010

Italian hangover headache

They say we often forget unhappy circumstances, but I truly believe there were a few years of my life in late high school and into college that I didn’t experience migraines on the regular. But in the last year or so, I’ve been getting them almost monthly.  And, needless to say, migraines are debilitating.

I’m one of the lucky few who can sleep them off, but that doesn’t mean I get to skip all the unpleasantness like light/sound sensitivity, dizziness, funky vision, and nausea.  Fortunately, my migraines have worked into my schedule for the most part. I’ll get them in the afternoons when I can afford to nap. I don’t have afternoon classes and usually I don’t have to work til 4:30pm.

One glass of water + two Aleve + two hour nap = Renee can function again

Lots of times I only have myself to blame for these headaches. Sometimes I realize they’re caused by no breakfast and too much coffee. Or little sleep and too much coffee. Or too much coffee and too much sugar and not enough water. Or too much wine. Or it’s caffeine related (aka no coffee). I’ve learned my lesson here. Sometimes my migraines are a side effect of changing weather or changing hormones.

But sometimes, I take completely fantastic good care of myself. I eat breakfast. I have one cup of coffee. I drink water. I eat a good lunch. I’m relaxed. I’m enjoying 80 degree temperatures in October. I’ve taught a couple of great classes. Everything is perfect.

Then, BOOM. I can’t even unload my groceries because I’m too dizzy. I can’t even hold down a glass of water. I take my Aleve and crawl into bed still wearing the dress I wore to work. I dream about my professors being insensitive about my migraine. I dream about my colleagues not letting me sleep through it. I dream about my midterm tomorrow and my students today and my cat. My dreams are full of worry and I finally acknowledge this migraine is stress-induced.

Two hours later, I wake up. I’m not feeling refreshed. I’m feeling like I just stood out on I-90 for two hours trying to avoid oncoming traffic and failing.

I can’t wait to be through with tomorrow’s midterm. I don’t feel confident about this one at all…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 8:54 pm

    For people who don’t get migraines, they are impossible to understand. It’s so much more than *just* a headache. They are incapacitating. Awful.

    I’m sorry you’re experiencing them. Good luck with everything, Renee… I’m thinkin’ about you!

  2. Deeter permalink
    October 12, 2010 12:39 am

    so ive had migraines since i was a junior in high school. they were originally diagnosed as allergy related (an allergy to mold in the air similar to mildew, so id get them a lot when it would rain heavily or right before it rained a lot or when the weather changed severely). the help was taking allegra once a day.

    then the summer before senior year at SMC, my doctor did some food allergy tests and told me i was intolerant of (not allergic to…ya know, get stomach aches, etc, not the whole hives, deathly thing) dairy, eggs, and mildly wheat. as soon as i cut dairy out of my diet (like after 2 weeks), i went from having them at least once every few days to no more than once every week or two.

    now i get them, like clockwork, while i PMS and the only solution is 2 Excedrine Extra Strength. miracle drug. and thats about the only time i get them.

    so maybe it could also be an allergy or PMS?

    regardless, i feel ya. it freakin sucks.

  3. October 12, 2010 6:35 am

    My mother suffered with migranes until she was in her mid thirties. In her case, she had a severe food allergy, so the problem was able to be “solved”. But I know what she went through and I’m so sorry you get them, especially since you have so much on your plate already.

    Be CONFIDENT! You will kick ass on your midterm!!

    🙂

  4. October 12, 2010 11:01 am

    Oh my goodness, this sounds terrible! I’ve never had a migraine, and I can’t imagine what it’s like. I hope this passes! And you’ll do amazingly on your mid-term, I can’t wait to hear about how you kick it’s ass 🙂

  5. Natasha permalink
    October 12, 2010 12:12 pm

    I’ve had migraines every once in awhile when I was a teenager, which was strange because I’m not prone to headaches. My sister is. When I did get them, though, they were migraines {especially with nausea}. I don’t have them anymore, but I do get bad headaches sometimes on one side of my head or the other. This is not about me, though. This is about you, and I’m glad you’re able to rest through it. I know you’re going to do well on your midterm. You’re going to be fine and when it’s over, sleep for as long as you possibly can. ❤

  6. Becosh permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:06 pm

    When I was on birth control I was averaging 12 migraines per month and I was a wreck. Once I went off birth control, I only get them maybe one or twice a month and I am usually able to go home and sleep those off.

    I am so sorry you have to deal with them. I wouldn’t wish a migraine on my worst enemy. Good luck with your mid-term!

  7. October 13, 2010 6:31 pm

    I get headaches ALL the time. Doctors are still working on figuring out why, so I hear you there… =/ Hope the midterm went well!

  8. October 13, 2010 7:52 pm

    I don’t get migraines, but my brother gets terrible ones that will knock him out for the whole day. I can’t even imagine.

    You made it through your midterm though! Yay!

  9. October 13, 2010 9:38 pm

    As someone who suffers from migraines, I feel your pain and am SO sorry that you had to experience that before your midterm. I hope it was all right, though, and if nothing else, you made it through! (:

  10. October 16, 2010 3:54 pm

    You poor thing – my Mum suffers horribly with migraines and having to do that through midterms as well OUCH

Leave a Reply

