Skip to content

Quick Six

November 7, 2010

1. Last night, I finally introduced my husband to Back to the Future. He had never seen it. I think he’s an alien. That’s one of the best movies of all time. Hands down.

2. Today I finished the first ten pages of my research paper draft.  The first ten pages are due on Tuesday.  I don’t really appreciate being graded on half of a draft but it’s good to get it done and out of the way.
2a. My research paper is a critical analysis of “Love the Way You Lie,” inspired by this post I wrote in July. It’s turning out to be really great… I was dying to unpack it! If you’d like to read it when it’s finished (in December), let me know!

3. Tomorrow my professor is supervising one of my classes I teach.  I hope my 8am class has their coffee because we’re gonna watch a Snuggie commercial.  (This persuasion unit has been fun!)

4. I really could not be looking more forward to the leftover Chinese food sitting in my fridge. Nom nom nom…

5. I love falling back.  I have my work done and it’s only 12:15. Bring on the football, Sunday!!!

6. I’ll give myself this afternoon off, but really… I have SO MUCH to do before the semester is over.  More like, Bring on the Zantac!
6a. It’ll get done because it has to and that’s that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 1:47 pm

    You sound busy, but energized–it will get done! Hang in there!

  2. November 7, 2010 1:56 pm

    Wait, wait, wait. How is it even possible to have never seen Back to the Future??? Ted and I are fairly shocked over here.

    Also, we have some peppermint flavored baby Zantac in case you need it. 🙂

  3. November 7, 2010 10:43 pm

    You sound like my fiance! I hadn’t seen Back to the Future until last month when we happened to catch it on TV during a lazy Saturday at home. I can’t believe I waited so long to see it! Very campy, but great.

  4. November 8, 2010 3:06 am

    Wait, what? WHAT? Never seen Back to the Future? Is that even possible? My sister-in-law has never seen the original Star Wars trilogy, either. No joke. HOW IS IT POSSIBLE?!

    What was the verdict? Did he like it?

  5. November 8, 2010 12:22 pm

    Maybe your husband and I are from the same planet because I had never seen any of the Back to the Futures until the recent (like five recent actually) ABC family marathons. He was equally baffled.

    I read your post a while back about that song and I think your paper sounds fascinating. I would love to read it if you are willing to share in December : )

  6. jennie permalink
    November 8, 2010 6:49 pm

    Hi Renee!

    I follow you on twitter and read your blog. You keep me entertained – thanks!!

    I would love to read your paper when you’re finished it. I actually used “love the way you lie” with my students (I teach a grade 7/8 class) and I had them develop and support opinions based on the song. It was really interesting to hear what they thought.

    Jennie
    @jenniefir

  7. November 14, 2010 3:44 pm

    Um, I’m a little shocked your husband had never seen Back to the Future, but mad props to you, lady, for remedying that situation. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Works in Progress « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

