Skip to content

Tales from Our Bedroom (rated G)

November 16, 2010

We crawled into bed. I was in a chatty mood. We were both wired so we stayed up to talk for longer than we should have. I rolled over to face him at the same time he lifted his arm to adjust… and he clocked me in the nose. HARD.

I thought it was broken. “Are you bleeding?” No. But I think I need an icepack. I returned from the freezer, crawled back into bed, whimpered, and he fell asleep. Nice.

I woke up this morning expecting a swollen bruise across my face. I expected to sit down at my desk in the office I share with 15 others. I expected to have to explain that my husband accidentally threw his elbow at my face… I expected rolled eyes as my colleagues look from my bruised face to the book on my desk: The Battered Woman Syndrome. (IT’S RESEARCH FOR A PAPER.)

But my face is okay.  Flowers would be nice, though.

Married life is a laugh and a half.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 10:18 am

    I’ve lost count the number of times my fiance and I have mutually punched or kicked each other or poked each others eyes. It would be hilarious if it didn’t hurt so much!

  2. November 16, 2010 10:34 am

    Something similar happened to us once, except reversed. Husband and I were goofing off, and he was tickling me; somehow, my head hit him in the mouth, so his lip was bleeding swollen. He thought it was great, apparently, because he took pictures of it and posted them on facebook. Sigh…

  3. November 16, 2010 7:01 pm

    haha oh man that’s pretty funny. matt and i have injured each other so many times it’s ridiculous and also makes me feel like a huge klutz, but it’s always funny.

  4. November 17, 2010 3:12 pm

    Married life is dangerous. Ted and I have accidentally beaten each other up on many occasions.

  5. November 22, 2010 2:43 am

    aww sorry to hear about your nose. i’m sure it’s still painful until now. gaw, i remember that one night I was knocked out to the world and my husband comes to bed, falls asleep, and he must’ve been dreaming and he literally PUNCHES me in my face and I freaked out being awaken like that – and I started to crawl he felt SO bad. But, I only got a sorry, a are you bleeding, and a kiss on the booboo and done – knocked out to the world he went while i sat there and thought to myself “you damn jerk you’re a punk” and i asked him the following morning “wth were you dreaming about that made you PUNCH me in my face?” and he said “i was fighting with someone” psh. Could’ve been me for all I know! but I’m glad you’re okay sweetheart.

  6. November 28, 2010 11:03 pm

    Bwahaha. I love this. Glad you don’t look like a battered woman!

  7. November 29, 2010 9:06 pm

    This sounds like something that will happen to us. Really. W has kicked me in his sleep before… so we’re kind of there. I hope your nose is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

