Skip to content

reverb10.1

December 1, 2010

I’m participating in reverb10 this year in an effort to be a better blogger.  Also, I hope to reflect on 2010, which has been a year full of exciting changes in my life.  Each day I will be reflecting on the reverb10 writing prompts.

Today’s prompt:
One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

One word for 2010: Forward.

2010 was the year I decided to move my life forward.  I applied to grad school in January and was accepted in early spring.  I began teaching in August and am just finishing my first semester.  It’s been a whirlwind but I finally feel like I’m out of my rut. I am moving forward.

The word “forward” also applies to my current university. Their unofficial motto is “Forward. Together Forward.” This came about after the 2008 shooting tragedy on this campus.

I choose “forward” to describe 2010.
I choose “growth” to capture 2011.

I hope to grow as a scholar. I hope to go to some conferences and grow my academic possibilities.  I hope to start applying to Ph.D. programs in 2011.  I hope that my marriage continues to grow in the beautiful direction it’s already going. I hope I continue to learn from my mistakes, my peers, and my experiences.  I hope 2011 is a continuation of the lessons I’ve learned in just the last four months of school.

{photo credit: terren in Virginia}

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 1:08 pm

    Your words are perfect for you! Growth is a big one for me next year, as well. Go us!

  2. December 1, 2010 2:38 pm

    Cheers to growth pretty lady.

  3. December 1, 2010 5:16 pm

    I love this! I almost chose growth as well. It’s such an affirming choice. Brava. And I look forward to watching it all unfold!

  4. December 1, 2010 5:33 pm

    Awesome. I’m hoping my 2011 looks like your 2010 by the end.

  5. blogasana permalink
    December 1, 2010 5:44 pm

    How cool – I get the image of moving forward this year, and now growing in this new place where you’ve arrived. Look forward to the rest of the Reverb prompts !

  6. December 1, 2010 6:16 pm

    thanks for visiting my blog! forward is also another great word. can’t wait to read more!

  7. December 1, 2010 6:51 pm

    What a wonderful way to spend the year!

  8. December 1, 2010 7:17 pm

    Forward and Growth are excellent words, and wonderful ways to spend a year.

  9. December 1, 2010 8:30 pm

    You certainly have moved forward and its so great what you’re doing!

  10. December 1, 2010 10:12 pm

    Oooo, good words. I like the positive thoughts they conjure up.

  11. December 1, 2010 11:11 pm

    oooo love the new site design. and great words 🙂 i look forward to seeing you grow 🙂

  12. Greg Engle permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:29 am

    What a neat project — I’m going to try it! It’s almost like NaNoWriMo, but slightly less daunting…

  13. December 2, 2010 12:51 am

    I LOVE your words. Forward and Growth. They go perfectly together. I wish you much growth in the coming year. 🙂

  14. December 2, 2010 8:50 am

    What a wonderful word for both years! So refreshing to see people moving forward, towards what they want, who they desire to be. I have loved reading your journey this year and look forward to reading more of what’s to come for you next year!

  15. December 2, 2010 3:17 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I love both your words and think “growth” is a perfect word for a new year. It sounds like you are headed in a wonderful direction!

Trackbacks

  1. Something New – reverb10 « GrengleBlog

Leave a Reply

