Skip to content

reverb10.2

December 2, 2010

I’m participating in reverb10. For more information on what it is and how to get involved, click here.

Today’s Prompt: Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

What do you mean, sharing string cheese with my cat and watching Friday Night Lights doesn’t contribute to my writing?

The truth is, I take my writing very seriously. That might not be evident by my lack of blogging, but I do a lot of writing for school.  And, believe it or not, my pop culture obsession is actually what I write about.  So those Friday Night Lights marathons? Who knows, one day I might do a critical analysis of Tim Riggins. (Sounds dirty. Jealous, ladies?)  Anything can turn into a paper, anything can inspire me… so to say that I do things that don’t contribute to my writing would be kind of absurd. To eliminate all potential inspiration? Criminal.

That’s how I justify sharing string cheese with my cat and curling up with Netflix in the afternoons.

{photo credit: haripako}

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 3:47 pm

    There’s nothing wrong with string cheese… just don’t drop it in the litter box. I feel like it wouldn’t be too appetizing.

    Thanks for visiting my site!

  2. December 2, 2010 4:06 pm

    I felt much the same way when I saw the prompt this morning. Inspiration for any kind of writing comes from the world around us, even the more…um…undignified parts. For me, sure, reading everything that pops up on Gawker and Jezebel doesn’t make me into a Pulitzer winner, but I truly believe a spark can be found anywhere.

  3. December 2, 2010 4:22 pm

    Hell yes. Firstly i love you. Secondly, I don’t see how FNL and a night on the couch WOULDN’T help our writing. I mean, we can just write, write, write. We also need to live a little, experience some dirty pop culture (I think I only said Dirty Pop cause of NSYNC).

    I love you.

  4. December 2, 2010 4:27 pm

    If you ever do a critical analysis of Tim Riggins, can I please read it? Seriously, I want to know everything I can about my future, uh… mistress? What’s the male version of mistress? There probably isn’t one, huh? I hate that.

    And that’s how I take you from sexy to sexism in five sentences.

  5. December 2, 2010 4:55 pm

    Thanks so much for your kind words on my #reverb10 blog post.

    Have you seen the TED talk by Elizabeth Gilbert? She has some great ideas about creativity and showing up and doing the work on a regular basis. You may enjoy it.

  6. December 2, 2010 8:43 pm

    Annnnnd… I’m slightly jealous of your cat.

  7. December 2, 2010 8:50 pm

    I WILL HELP DO A CRITICAL ANALYSIS OF TIM RIGGINS.

    I mean, what?

  8. December 2, 2010 10:17 pm

    Very cool answer. That’s great that you haven’t found anything to hinder your writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

