Skip to content

reverb10.6

December 6, 2010

I’m participating in reverb10. For more information on what it is and how to get involved, click here.

Today’s Prompt: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

The last thing I made was dinner. But that’s a boring answer. If you’re dying to know, though, we had breakfast for dinner: fried eggs, latkes, and turkey sausage. It was delicious.

Prior to the regular dinner-making, I whipped up some delicious deviled eggs for our grad school Thanksgiving potluck. But really, that’s boring, too.

In 2010, I didn’t give myself enough time to be creative. I love cooking in my messy kitchen, and I did make an effort to bake something once a week for awhile this fall, but I had very little time to cover myself in paint or hot glue or glitter.

That said, my girlfriend Michele is a fabric artist and one day this spring I forced her to teach me how to sew. I checked out fourteen thousand sewing books from the library, picked out a pattern, and made that apron. Seriously. I sewed it. The last time I was so proud of my handiwork was when I made a teddy bear in 7th grade home ec.

Let’s not talk about how that was the one and only time I touched my sewing machine this year… I had such high hopes… but life had other plans.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 12:01 am

    oh gosh, sewing is something i wish i had time for! i see all these things people have created (or even just altered) and think it would make life so much easier… but the sewing machine intimidates me!
    awesome job 🙂
    http://callahyoga.blogspot.com/2010/12/make.html

  2. December 7, 2010 9:11 am

    That apron is so cute! I have never sewed but I would love to learn. But I don’t think any of my friends know how. 😦

  3. December 7, 2010 6:41 pm

    um that dinner does not sound boring at all, but rather delicious. i need to learn how to make deviled eggs. i definitely ruined the last egg i tried to boil, haha.

  4. December 12, 2010 9:38 am

    I love the apron! I can sew…Maybe that should be a goal for me, an apron…Hmm….

Leave a Reply

