Skip to content

reverb10.17

December 17, 2010

I’m participating in reverb10. For more information on what it is and how to get involved, click here.

Today’s Prompt: Lesson learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?


To be honest, I’m struggling with this prompt quite a bit. I read it this morning, did some baking, did some wrapping, and generally procrastinated. In fact, I stopped half way through this post to take a shower and ruminate even more.

I learned a lot in 2010.  From my experience at the coffee shop, I recognized my threshold for being taken advantage of. And it’s far greater than I would have imagined. I learned that working at a place that does not appreciate me and support me is hard on my spirit, a spirit I know is resilient… but it was too much. The schedule, the low pay, the treatment, the phone calls on my days off, the demands, the crossing of lines… It was too much and I was complacent for too long. I learned that.

I learned I’m just as smart as I always knew I was. I learned that, in applying myself, I can make the grade. (Oh, you didn’t hear? I magically earned all A’s this semester!!!) I learned a LOT about academia. I learned that I need to make those grades if I want a career in a field that is vulnerable for extinction. I learned that it doesn’t matter how vulnerable this field is, I want to be a part of it.

I learned I’m a good student, but even better, I’m a damn good teacher. One student told me I’m better than any of her “real professors.” I’ll take that as a compliment. I care about each and every one of my students. I worry about them. I want to see them succeed.

I learned that I don’t feel pretty with short hair. I learned that wine mostly makes me tired. I learned that it’s okay to take a break. I learned not to push myself too hard.  I learned some patience.

But I don’t think all the lessons 2010 has taught me have shown their faces yet. I think there’s still some learning to be had.

{photo credit: mr.beaver}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 9:00 pm

    Congrats on all those As! And being a good teacher is worth its weight in gold.

  2. December 21, 2010 11:01 am

    I love that you love being a teacher. I’m sure you totally 100% rock at it and I’d love to have you as a teacher.

    I don’t even know if I could quantify what I’ve learned in 2010…. like you I think a lot of it is still evolving.

Leave a Reply

