Skip to content

reverb10 – not feelin’ it

December 21, 2010

I’ll be honest. I was gung-ho about reverb10 when I signed up in November. I thought it would be an easy way to sift through 2010 memories. I wanted to document the Best Of… in an easy way. Turns out, it’s not as frivolous and fun as I had anticipated. It feels a LOT like the journaling prompts Molly at Stratejoy sent out with the Joy Equation… except, those were better.  I may continue with reverb10 if the prompt speaks to me, but I’m not going to waste my time with the ones that don’t.

So, in lieu of catching up on reverb10 prompts, let me tell you want I want to remember most from 2010.

January 2010: Applied to NIU. It was an absolutely frustrating process but it made me realize how badly I wanted to go to grad school.

February 2010: Completed the Joy Equation. Figured out my own definition of success. Started to go after it with tenacity.

March 2010: Accepted admission to grad school. Picked up the pieces of a lost job opportunity. Trained at the Italian restuarant where I learned I enjoy serving and I’m also pretty darned good at it. Fell in love with New Orleans.

April 2010: Turned 24. Felt like a grown up. People are way less judge-y when you’re 24 and married as opposed to 23 and married.

May 2010: Fucking finally said SO LONG to the coffee shop. I cannot emphasize how terrible that place was and how HAPPY I am without it. The coffee was fantastic. The drama was outrageous. Also, traveled to Indianapolis for epic hangs with my favorite blog friends.

June 2010: Started planning a roadtrip. Kicked off wedding season in Saint Louis.

July 2010: Spent the 4th in Minneapolis. Skipped fireworks to play Sequence with the in-laws. Threw Erin a baby shower. Started feeling a sense of purpose, realized that’s exactly the feeling I’d been longing for. Was offered an assistantship/full ride scholarship and salary at NIU.

August 2010: Epic roadtrip through the Great Lakes as a first anniversary vacation. Highlights include a lumberjack show and Leinenkugel’s brewery tour. Started TA training. Realized I’d be teaching my own classes. Started my own classes: Research Methods, Communication Education, and Communication & Gender.

September 2010: My MacBook Pro got a face lift. I wrote my first grad school paper and got my first grad school A.

October 2010: Midterms. Migraines. Bad grades. I overcame them all. Mom visited. We took the outlet mall by storm.

November 2010: A homey Thanksgiving with all the fixin’s and just the two of us. I wrote 30 pages over the long holiday weekend.

December 2010: A visit from the in-laws. Finished my first semester with a 4.0 GPA. Won the Christmas song lyric game at the work party. Was reassigned to TA for a Film/TV class and a Media & Rhetoric class.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 2:38 pm

    You made it further than I did with the reverb posts– good job! I do love these wrap-up style posts, and it sounds like you had such an awesome year. Wishing you all the best for 2011…!

  2. December 21, 2010 3:01 pm

    I so agree. I gave up and I’m not ashamed of it. I like your wrap-up and I might do something similar!

  3. December 21, 2010 6:13 pm

    I really enjoyed the Best Of 2009 posts that were shared last year. It was fun and light-hearted. To be honest, many of these prompts are making me feel like a failure. I’m not quite feeling them and am struggling to answer them lately.

  4. December 21, 2010 10:55 pm

    This seems like one of those things that is easier once you get started and the ideas start rolling in?
    If you don’t like something though, I say not worth it 🙂
    Cool site!
    Meri

  5. December 22, 2010 7:47 pm

    Some of the reverb posts were a little too heavy for me to read…I can’t imagine trying to actually keep up with writing them!

  6. January 8, 2011 9:40 pm

    I had to stop, myself… and I felt even worse about it since I was a crew member. But I found I was re-treading the same old ground every couple of days. Maybe my year wasn’t as varied as other people’s? I’m hoping that the #reverb11 plans they have for this year are a little more my speed. Happy New Year, Renee!

Leave a Reply

