Skip to content

The Calm Before the Storm

January 14, 2011

My second semester begins on Tuesday and, though part of me has seriously enjoyed all the down time, the anal part of me is looking forward to a schedule again. I tend to waste a lot more time when I have more time to waste, you know?  This semester I will be taking three kick-ass classes:

  • Rhetorical Technologies (or, the rhetoric of video games)
  • Women in Television (or, how television fosters feminism)
  • Media, Entertainment, and Citizenship (or, how Jon Stewart makes me feel American)

I’m a TA for two other kick-ass classes: Rhetoric & The Media and Critical Interpretation of Film and Television. (I’ve already added all the films to my Netflix queue. Nerd.)

Needless to say, I’m quite excited for these classes and get giddy every time a new textbook arrives on my porch. There are times when I get jealous of all the lovely bloggers striving for and becoming “full-time creatives.” It makes me sad that I don’t have a creative bone in my body… I’ll never be a full-time creative.  But then I realize, clearly, creativity is not what makes me happy. Learning and analyzing does.  Therefore, when I see another blogger become or intend to become a full-time creative, I now realize I can tell myself I’m striving to become a full-time academic. I’m almost there… but you can’t live full-time on the $9000 salary I currently earn as a graduate assistant. (Hence, waiting tables.)

A few updates from the last week or so…

I threw Joe a surprise party for his birthday last week! (Happy birthday, Joe!) It turned out great, despite my many worries. The best part was the cannoli cake. Yes. Cannoli cake. I stopped in at the local Italian bakery for a cake or pastry tray for the party and when I couldn’t decide, the employee suggested a cannoli cake. It’s a giant cannoli with mini cannoli stacked inside. AND THEN DECORATED LIKE A BIRTHDAY CAKE. I could hardly handle how cool it was, so I immediately ordered one.

I also finished my class at Second City last Friday. I had so much fun. I strongly recommend Second City for improv classes. The style they teach and the exercises they use are so useful in all walks of life. I was very impressed with the support of the group and the professional manner the class was conducted (even though each skit seemed to incorporate the word “fuck.”) I plan to use a few of the exercises we learned the next time I teach public speaking. Also, if you’re interested, I think I might take one of their week-long writing programs this summer. Anyone want to take it with me?

My time at Second City helped me hone a potential thesis topic. I love comedy, I love feminism, I love rhetoric, and I love the internet… so I’m thinking I might combine them and study the rhetoric of comedy, how women use it, and how the internet is the ideal setting for funny women. Of course, this idea is just a baby, and will probably become something completely different by the time it’s written, but I finally feel like I have a start.

So there’s that. Classes start Tuesday and I’ll do my very best to keep up with the blogosphere. xoxo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 12:10 pm

    Tina Fey and Sarah Palin. I think you need to incorporate that into your baby thesis.

    Just sayin’.

    (Tina Fey is my role model. Dot com.)

  2. January 14, 2011 2:12 pm

    That cannoli cake looks AMAZING! And your baby thesis idea sounds really interesting– I can’t wait to hear how it develops.

  3. January 18, 2011 12:53 pm

    Yay for school starting up for you again AND for coming up with a thesis idea at Second City! It sounds super interesting… and I cannot wait to see where that idea takes you. And if I lived in Chicago, you bet I would do a Second City class with you. I’ve always wanted to do something like that just for fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

