Skip to content

Pick Five Friday 2.25

February 25, 2011

I’m borrowing this idea from AlasKat, who happens to be my new teammate for the TwentyTwenty blog (official blog of 20sb, of which I am now editor-in-chief — woo!).

Blog

A professor of mine mentioned Antenna in conversation. It’s good. Like, really good. So if you have any interest in critical analysis of media and pop culture (and who doesn’t love that stuff?), check it out.

Website


Obsessed with Pinterest right now. Come be my friend.

News Story
Republicans hate women, but that’s not news. Am I pissed about pulling funding from Planned Parenthood? Of course. Am I pissed at the racist anti-abortion ad in SoHo? Damn straight. Am I pissed about pulling funding for the arts? Duh. But we can look past all that as a nation. (And isn’t the President’s right to veto in place for a reason?) But there’s one story that hits way below the belt. The headline: “Crowd Laughs When Congressman is Asked: ‘Who’s Going to Shoot Obama?’This is humor? This is not humor. This is hate. This is not misguided religion or family values. This is hate. Hate has no place in the United States.

Dream Dress

I’ve been obsessed with finding The Perfect Dress for Wedding Season. You know, since I’ll be seeing lots of people who I haven’t seen since… I dunno… graduation, May 2008? So here is one of my contenders.
Purchase of the Week

I bought Adele’s new album, along with the rest of the middle-class 20-something white female US demographic. And, like everyone else, I’m smitten. Girlfriend is so good.

Health Update
Mom is weaning herself off her pain meds and I’m visiting the neurologist next week. (And giving a presentation. And grading 60 essays. And reading eleventy bajillion pages. If you ask me if I’m overwhelmed, I’ll probably just whimper. Must. Stop. Saying. Yes.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 11:58 am

    Congrats on being editor in chief of the 20SB blog! That’s huge love 🙂
    I’ll be thinking of you in the next week with all that you’ve got on your plate! You can do it! *shakes pom poms from afar*! 🙂

  2. February 25, 2011 12:11 pm

    Great list.
    That dress is dreamy. I’m looking for one for graduation myself.
    Hope your Mom continues to heal.
    Take care of yourself. It’s hard to say No in grad school. It is hard when opportunities come along on top of what is already required. They want us to work 100 hours a week and when we don’t we feel like we don’t have what it takes because others seem to do fine. We all have limits.
    Good luck at the neurologist. Hugs.

  3. February 25, 2011 3:32 pm

    oh i love that dress! the color, the style, so cute.

    also, everyone i know is talking a bout the adele album, i guess i should give it a listen then.

  4. February 25, 2011 4:40 pm

    yay 20SB Team! 🙂

    Also, yay Pinterest. I love that site. I could spend hours pinning.

  5. February 26, 2011 2:45 pm

    If I could wear that dress while listening to Adele…I would be a happy girl. 🙂

  6. February 26, 2011 10:21 pm

    Congrats on being editor! That’s so fantastic.

    What is this pinterest thing?

  7. February 27, 2011 6:24 pm

    Congrats about becoming the editor-in-chief for 20sb!

    That dress is gorgeous. Go with it.

    I keep hearing about the awesomeness that is Adele. I need to check out her album soon.

    That headline is horrible. I hate our country sometimes.

    Good luck this next week. Remember to breathe!

  8. angelasw permalink
    March 4, 2011 10:58 pm

    1. I hope your mom is feeling better soon!
    2. That dress is awesome. You should probably buy it.
    3. Grad school is a bitch, but kinda worth it.
    4. I’m getting really sick of conservatives as well.

  9. March 12, 2011 10:38 pm

    Love the dress! Perfect for weddings! Antenna…awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Pick Five Friday 2.25 « Belle Renee -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

