Skip to content

Third Time’s a Charm!

February 28, 2011

For the last three years, I’ve been nominated for 20sb Bootleg Awards.  You guys thought I was inspirational and opinionated in 2009. You wanted to have a beer with me, wanted me to blog more, and thought my video blog was cool in 2010. In 2011, you followed my journey as a student and again, thought I was opinionated. But apparently, never enough to win.

Well. The people have spoken. I’ve been voted Most Opinionated. You guys, newsflash, it’s not even an election year.

The truth is, I’m honored and totally proud that you all think I’m some loud-mouthed biddy who uses her blog as a soapbox. (But if not here, where?)  I’m humbled by the fact that you voted for this little blog who doesn’t even self-host or have its own designer. I’m forever impressed with 20sb as a community and thank you for all the support through the years. (YEARS, I said, m-f-ing YEARS. I joined 20sb in January 2008 – WHAT.)

So, if you’re here for the first time because you’re all “What the fuck’s a Belle Renee?” I’ve compiled a list of my favorite opinionated posts.

Rihanna and S&M – or, the one you guys were too afraid to comment on
Oh noes! Where is the innocence?! – or, the one where I high-five female sexuality
“Love the Way You Lie” – or, the one that gets me the most traffic still
Food. Health. Diet. Hunger. & Your Body – or, the one where I take on the diet industry
Say What You Mean, Mean What You Say, Know What You’re Saying – or, the one nobody understood
Not Ready to Make Nice – or, the one where I side with the Dixie Chicks
We did it. – or, the one where I thank the Democrats

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 11:38 am

    Congrats, my love! So proud to call you a friend. You’re amazing!

    P.S. Old school 20SB love ❤

  2. February 28, 2011 11:46 am

    Love you and all your opinions, you mouthy blogger you! And I’ll shout that from the rooftop. XO

  3. February 28, 2011 12:24 pm

    A). Congrats! B). Third time’s a charm for me too. I was starting to feel like Susan Lucci!

  4. February 28, 2011 2:12 pm

    Congrats, Renee! I’ve been looking through your old posts and love, love, love your critical thinking toward the media. They’re so thought provoking well-written. And this is a girl who thought she couldn’t make it through grad school?!

  5. February 28, 2011 8:27 pm

    a big CONGRATULATIONS is in order! I am so happy for you! I don’t have a favorite, because these are all really great. I never heard/paid close enough attention to the lyrics at the end of Eminem’s song Love the way you lie – until I read your post. And I went back to listen again and was shocked. Keep up the good work!

  6. March 1, 2011 5:40 pm

    Congrats, love.
    Also, coffee dates coming soooonnnnn!!!!!

  7. March 1, 2011 10:59 pm

    Definitely opinionated! (And, really, I mean that in the more adoring way possible.)

    Very well-deserved – CONGRATS!

  8. March 3, 2011 12:25 am

    (I’m here, but I lurk… Sorry, ha.) Congrats hun!!

  9. Mom permalink
    March 5, 2011 10:10 am

    Congratulations! Opinionated? Loud? Where do you get that?! Love it! Keep up your voice. There are still a lot of people believing Fox News. *sigh*

  10. March 5, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love this for you, lady, and am super excited that you’ve been recognized for being opinionated… and awesome. Because, let’s be honest, you are.

    I second Jamie’s old school 20SB love. It’s amazing to see how far we have come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

