Skip to content

Happy International Women’s Day!

March 8, 2011

March 8, 2006: We were served a delicious meal at hotel Tiziano, where we lived, complete with vases holding buds of yellow flowers and endless bottles of wine. It was the first time I had heard of the holiday and it was no surprise that I was only celebrating it because I was in Rome. It was festa della donna, or as English-speakers call it, International Women’s Day. Italy celebrates with flowers, good food, and parades.  The United States celebrates with… women flashing their breasts? Oh wait, that’s Mardi Gras. Why doesn’t the US celebrate it?

I have a fondness for International Women’s Day, not just for the memory of Italian wine, and not just because my husband tends to buy me flowers. It’s a day of sisterhood and solidarity.  If only it felt that way for everyone.

Today, if you watch nothing else online, watch this. Or, skip the latest Charlie Sheen spectacle and enlighten yourself. I mean, Daniel Craig is in it, and, though he’s not my type, he is James Bond.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 10:00 am

    Wow. Really? Today is International Women’s Day?
    GOOD to know, and I have made sure to share this and pass the word along.

    Interesting video…sad, but interesting.

  2. March 8, 2011 12:33 pm

    Happy Int’l Women’s Day to you! I love that it’s celebrated, and wish that got more attention here!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy International Women’s Day! « Belle Renee

Leave a Reply

