Skip to content

Grandma’s Pearls of Wisdom

March 21, 2011

My last surviving grandparent is my Grandma Wanda. She has a timeshare in Orlando and I visited her there over my spring break. She’s 83 but one of the coolest women I know. She’s sharp as a tack, though we did break into someone else’s patio because she had my cousin’s address wrong. Here are some gems of wisdom from Grandma.

Grandma wants to know if she has to pay to get twitters from the Wall Street Journal.

Grandma thinks Two and a Half Men was too racy for primetime anyways.

Grandma thinks this season’s bachelor was snobby and selfish.

Grandma really likes Regis.

Grandma remembers getting electricity in her farm house and she didn’t have radio until high school… but now she sends emails from her iPad.

Grandma named her GPS Wendy. “I remember driving around Florida before we got GPS. I don’t know how we got around without a Wendy.”

“I didn’t even read my paper today. I just sat in the sun and counted my blessings.”

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 11:37 am

    Grandma’s are awesome. Love this.

  2. March 21, 2011 1:04 pm

    I like your Grandma. That’s awesome πŸ™‚

  3. March 21, 2011 1:08 pm

    Your grandma sounds great – and quite a bit like mine, actually. πŸ™‚

  4. March 21, 2011 1:57 pm

    Love this! So sweet; she seems like one super cool chick (and yes, I just said that). So glad you had some time with Gram and fun in the sun πŸ™‚

  5. March 21, 2011 5:26 pm

    aw i love grandparents and your grandma just sounds like a peach. love it.

  6. March 21, 2011 7:37 pm

    Aww, so cute! Your grandma sounds like a true gem. So glad that you were able to spend some time with her in FL. Also, how awesome is it that she emails from her ipad?

  7. March 21, 2011 9:09 pm

    Grandma sounds like an awesome woman and she looks adorable in her picture!

  8. March 22, 2011 7:44 am

    This just made me miss my grandma lots. Glad you got to spend your spring break with yours, she seems absolutely wonderful : )

  9. March 22, 2011 1:46 pm

    I love that your gma sends emails on her iPad. I don’t think my mother could master that. πŸ˜‰

    Lor

  10. March 23, 2011 12:32 pm

    Aw I love this post. I’m glad you got to spend time down there. πŸ˜€ Your grandma sounds very like a wonderful woman. I have thought about compiling a list of some of my grandmother’s journal entries into a blog post. I miss her a lot.

  11. March 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    I LOVE that last one. You can’t make this shit up. So good.

  12. March 28, 2011 8:26 pm

    “Grandma really likes Regis” ah ha, LOVE.

  13. April 7, 2011 4:07 am

    Your grandma sends emails from her ipad AND has a GPS?! My grandma doesn’t even know how to text, and she’s too scared to drive.

    My grandpa, on the other hand, has a Facebook. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

