Skip to content

2011’s Song of the Summer

March 24, 2011

Every spring, I tend to gravitate towards a song that just sounds like summer. Remember summer 2009 when I discovered “Hey Soul Sister” for all you lovely readers? (YOU’RE WELCOME.) I didn’t share one last year, but I mean, of course it was Michael Franti and Spearhead’s “Say Hey“. This year, I’m dubbing “Stay the Night” by James Blunt the Summer Song of 2011. Okay, I give my mom all the credit. She introduced me to it. (Hi Mom.) Also, my mom thinks James Blunt looks like Joe. And the creepiest part is that she’s totally right.

Except he’s been wearing his hair like this lately.
(Remember that time we got free burgers because we dressed up in formal wear?)

I tend to shy away from music-oriented posts (unless, you know, it’s Rihanna) because my musical tastes are pretty much stuck in 2005. I mean, I’m still rockin’ Maroon 5 and Barenaked Ladies. But I love me a good summer song, so here you go.

One of these days, I’m going to have to do a post about my celebrity family. Because my husband looks like James Blunt, my mom looks like Rosie the Riveter, and my dad looks like that main detective on Law & Order: Criminal Intent. And me? Well, I’m going to stick with Mary Tyler Moore circa 1975.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 4:33 pm

    Just have to say- You look gorgeous in that picture! (Hi R!)

  2. March 24, 2011 4:37 pm

    So cute! Love it! I heard that song a few weeks ago, not too shabby really.
    Just an FYI, I still listen to Maroon 5 too. A lot.
    And Jack Johnson. John Mayer. And other artists from when I was in college and grad school, so yeah, you’re not alone in being stuck in music tastes. I think it’s totally acceptable!

  3. March 24, 2011 5:02 pm

    Oh, you two look dashing! I’m officially a huge fan of the song.

  4. March 24, 2011 5:38 pm

    oh love the song and the pic is adorable. love that you two got dressed up for free burgers, that’s awesome.

  5. Mom permalink
    March 24, 2011 6:02 pm

    But I only fantasize about a romp with James Blunt, not Joe…

  6. March 24, 2011 9:40 pm

    After your discovery of “Hey, Soul Sister” before it exploded into popularity, I fully trust your music choices. I really like this song – it definitely has a summery feel to it.

  7. March 25, 2011 1:32 pm

    Love love love that photo of you! Thanks “Mrs. Bellerenee!” for sharing a new James Blunt song! I really like it!! I totally am stuck in the past with music too!

  8. March 26, 2011 4:04 am

    Oh I so here you!!! For 2008 we were stuck on “All Summer Long” by Kid Rock and “Shift Work” by Kenny Chesney because both described where we worked to a t! 2009 would be “Cadillac Cowboy” because that was playing the day we rode bareback broncs and bulls in the rodeo! 2010 was “Lay Me Down” by Dirty Heads’, a fun and somewhat reggae song that has a romantic twist. ^_^

  9. March 26, 2011 5:04 pm

    Those are all awesome songs! This is my favorite summer song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmG0DqhfDbY

  10. March 28, 2011 8:16 am

    I will now spend the remainder of my Monday with that song bouncing around my head and wishing I was at the beach : )

    Also, your mom’s comment is hillarious.

  11. May 1, 2011 11:49 pm

    I LOVE THIS SONG. And if it didn’t talk about ‘staying the night’, I would force my kids to listen to it during free time at lunch. I love finding new music that is perfect for what I need. I don’t have anyone to sing this to… anymore, but listening to it makes me happy just the same. So hurrah for new music finds.

    Also? It goes without saying but I will say it anyway- you and Joe look gorgeous. Well done!

Leave a Reply

