Skip to content

Works in Progress

April 10, 2011

I’m taking a short blogging hiatus while I focus on the end of the semester. (God, that sounds so… responsible of me.) As I did last semester, albeit accidentally, here is an overview of the papers that I’m writing. If you would like to read one (or all) of them when they’re finished, let me know. (All titles are very, very tentative.)

Football, Feminism, and Friday Night Lights (alternate title: These are a few of my fav-o-rite things!)
An analysis of Tami Taylor and how the show handled the issue of abortion (especially in Texas, and especially on a show about, you know, football). Also, some industrial analysis (like, why the hell did this show air on DirecTV and not NBC?).

Prop 8 – The Musical: Satire and Democracy Online
A textual analysis of Marc Shaiman’s Prop 8 – The Musical, some stuff about how satire is good for democracy, and some stuff about how it can flourish online. Clearly, this one still needs fleshing out.

James Bond Supports International Women’s Day
A rhetorical analysis of the WeAreEQUALS International Women’s Day campaign which included a viral video starring Daniel Craig. Also included: stuff on internet memes, stuff about masculinity, and stuff about James Bond. Hot.

Can I just say how smitten I am with my coursework? I mean, I get to write and study the COOLEST stuff. I’m incredibly grateful for this opportunity. And for Friday Night Lights. Duh.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 9:19 pm

    Reading this post makes me miss college. All of your papers sounds like they will be really good! What degree are you working on?

  2. April 11, 2011 7:32 am

    These all sound amazing. Enjoy the rest of the semester and I will most certainly be wanting to read the finished products!

  3. April 11, 2011 10:36 am

    Your paper titles are SO much more interesting than mine for this semester! 🙂 My law profs do not really appreciate creativity in that way, so they’re super exciting. Like, “Whistleblower Protection at the United Nations,” “The Future of Public Financing of Elections,” and “Corporate Political Speech.” SO innovative, ha! 🙂

  4. April 11, 2011 11:50 am

    You absolutely MUST send me “Football, Feminism, and Friday Night Lights.” My boyfriend & I often have crazily in-depth discussions about the show & how progressive it is for being a small-town football show. PLEEEASE send us this paper! He’s deploying this weekend & taking the final season with him; I know he’d love reading this while he’s underway. I’m at suburbansweetheart(at)gmail(dot)com. Happy hiatus!

  5. April 12, 2011 11:46 pm

    Those all sound fascinating. You’re making me miss school!

    Good luck with all of your coursework and the end of your semester. 🙂

  6. angelasw permalink
    May 10, 2011 11:20 am

    What are you in school for now? It sounds so awesome!

Leave a Reply

