Skip to content

Wine & Love

May 12, 2011

I love Nora’s Wine & Love posts so I decided today would be a great day to finally participate!  I’m currently hanging in my office for the last day with nothing to do (had to give a final this morning, waiting to give a presentation this evening). So here’s what’s causing me to hit the bottle and what’s causing me to smile…

Filling up the wine glass…

  • Lofty summer goals: an independent study, a chunk of my thesis, and the GRE (again)
  • An outrageous day of travel next week: a 6am flight from Seattle to Raleigh
  • Being unable to attend BiSC this year AND next year. Epic sads.
  • Losing my major source of income for the summer. 😦

Making me smile…

  • The gorgeous Illinois weather this week!
  • Being done with my first year of grad school!!
  • Another semester of good grades!
  • Moving to a giant desk in the TA office!
  • Plans with friends!
  • Seeing my in-laws tomorrow and watching my sister-in-law graduate!
  • Free wine at a wedding next weekend!
  • Fresh seafood in Washington!
  • BBQ and sweet tea in North Carolina!
7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 2:01 pm

    How long are you in Washington? Let me know if you would like any recommendations for things to do, places to eat, etc.! Enjoy the seafood 🙂

  2. May 12, 2011 2:02 pm

    I LOVE that you ended your loves with ‘!”

    Super bummer to losing your income for the summer BUT we shall find fun, cheap, free things to do and continue to hang out on the regular (ahem, I can’t wait).

    Congrats on the good grades and good luck tonight with the presentation. (Oh, and of course, thanks for playing love!)

    xoxo

  3. May 12, 2011 2:45 pm

    This was my first week to participate too! It was super fun to complain for a moment and then uplifting to turn it everything around and make it a positive.
    Like your blog!

  4. May 12, 2011 10:19 pm

    Congrats on finishing your first year of grad school! Also, free booze is always something to smile about. 🙂

  5. May 13, 2011 9:37 pm

    Oh, bleh. You’ve already made the big jump to grad school; why the need to take the GRE again?

    Congrats on the big desk! That’s definitely something to celebrate!

  6. May 18, 2011 6:21 pm

    Sad that you can’t attend BiSC this year and next! Good job on the good grades though. 🙂

  7. Dakota permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:35 pm

    LOVE! – This photo!!!!

    dakotad.com

Leave a Reply

