Skip to content

What She Ate (a faux-foodie post)

May 26, 2011

So I went on “vacation” and saw both coasts.  My sister-in-law graduated from University of Puget Sound in Tacoma, WA on May 15, then the friend that (inadvertently) introduced Joe and I got married in Charlotte, NC the following weekend. So we decided to fly from Chicago to Tacoma on Friday, May 13 (you know, ten hours after my last final of the semester — so, SUPER FUN), then fly from Tacoma to Raleigh on May 17 to see friends and putz around UNC/Chapel Hill area, then drive to Charlotte for the super awesome wedding on May 20, and then fly back to Chicago on May 23.

No, the traveling was not super fun. Neither was the sleeping on the floor with two golden retrievers for two nights nor the outdoor graduation in the chilly rain. That said, I am so grateful to have spent quality time with my in-laws and our friend was so beautiful at her wedding (and the reception was awesome).

But most of all? The vacation was about food. Being from the Midwest, nothing excites me more than the prospect of fresh Pacific northwest seafood or real southern BBQ and sweet tea.  So I’ve catalogued my dining experiences for your jealousies*.

Friday, May 13 – Primo Grille, Tacoma, WA
Pancetta and radicchio wood-fired pizza & chardonnay

Saturday, May 14 – Indochine, Tacoma, WA
Fresh tofu spring rolls, flash fried calamari and sauteed vegetables & the prettiest Thai iced tea ever

Sunday, May 15 – Crown Bar, Tacoma, WA
Falafel sandwich and greek salad & a Pimms and rosemary infusion (YUM)

Monday, May 16 – The Lobstershop, Tacoma, WA (waterfront!)
Dungeness crab crostini, clam chowder, cedar roasted salmon with garlic-vermouth butter and the best creme brulee I’ve ever eaten & chardonnay

Tuesday, May 17 – Mykonos Grill, Burlington, NC
Greek salad with grilled chicken

Wednesday, May 18 – Spanky’s, Chapel Hill, NC
Homemade potato chips, Mediterranean noodle salad, & sweet tea

Thursday (lunch), May 19 – The Town Table, Elon, NC
Country salad with calamari and sesame-ginger vinaigrette & sweet tea

Thursday (dinner), May 19 – Hursey’s BBQ, Burlington, NC
BBQ chopped pork, coleslaw, fries, and hush puppies & sweet tea

Friday, May 20 – Jason’s Deli, Charlotte, NC
California club and steamed vegetables (at this point, all we wanted was something light and homecooked and this was the best we could do)

Saturday, May 21 – wedding reception, Centerstage@NoDa, Charlotte, NC
YUM to the extreme: a buffet with four stations: a salad station where the chef shook your salad in a giant martini shaker and served it in a martini glass, a meat station with sliders, a DIP STATION (I KNOW) with hot crab dip, spinach artichoke dip, hummus, etc, and A MAC AND CHEESE STATION (WHAT.) — that doesn’t include the bride and groom’s signature drink- a Thai pepper basil martini. OMG. I want to go back to there.

Sunday (lunch), May 22 – Red Bowl, Burlington, NC
Hot and sour soup, alaska roll, spicy tuna roll & iced tea

Sunday (dinner), May 22 – dinner at Joe’s childhood bff’s house, Burlington, NC
Bacon meatloaf and beer. I know. Total bachelor meal.

My favorite meals were from The Lobstershop in Tacoma and obviously the reception (parmesan and bacon mac and cheese!!), but my favorite drink was far and away that Pimm’s/rosemary infusion at Crown Bar. Holy moly. I don’t even know what Pimm’s is, but I now know that I like it.

Suffice it to say, all we wanted when we returned home was produce. I spent nearly $100 at the Italian market for all sorts of fruits and veggies and then I spent a few hours cutting it all up. We have our own salad bar in our fridge now and it is awesome.

*No, I did not take photos of my food because I think that’s weird and kinda rude so maybe that means I haven’t fully drunk the blogging kool-aid, but just use your imaginations, okay?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 10:57 am

    I always enjoying trying new places to eat and new dishes when traveling. A dip station at the wedding sounds incredible.

  2. May 26, 2011 12:09 pm

    Reading this at work on an empty stomach was not a good idea. Glad you had fun!

  3. May 26, 2011 11:10 pm

    This post sounds delicious!

  4. May 26, 2011 11:10 pm

    P.S. Your new tagline is way cute.

  5. May 27, 2011 10:41 am

    when i travel, it’s always all about the food, so i enjoyed this post 🙂 that salad station at the wedding sounds fun!!

  6. May 27, 2011 10:44 am

    I too do not take pictures of my food because 1) I am an idiot when it comes to technology so am terrible at uploading anything and 2) I’m too busy eating all the deliciousness that I forget to document it’s pretty.

    Your friend’s wedding reception sounded wonderfully unique. Glad you had two yummy getaways : )

  7. May 27, 2011 10:49 am

    And then there was the time I used it’s when I should have used its. I know that is your pet peeve. Sorry! : /

    • May 27, 2011 11:03 am

      Bahahaha Garnet, I love that you called yourself out! That’s good proofreading and I wholly appreciate it. 🙂

  8. May 27, 2011 5:53 pm

    1. Everything looks so pretty! I have a crush on your blog.

    2. I’m now feeling grouchy because I’m starving and read this and I pretty much just want to lick my computer screen and hope it tastes like mac and cheese. And I have a feeling that it’s just going to taste like dust and regret.

    3. I forgot to tell you- I created a drink last weekend called The Bradley Whitford. It was delicious. From what I can remember…

    4. I want to live in a world where every restaurant has a dip station.

    5. I have never, EVER correctly typed the word ‘restaurant’ on the first try.

  9. June 15, 2011 1:00 pm

    The Lobstershop sounds amazing, and I so want to see/try/eat a salad in a martini shaker! Delicious list.

Leave a Reply

